University Symphonic Band performs 2018 spring concert

Published by Concordia University, Nebraska 3 years ago on Fri, Apr 6, 2018 12:10 PM
The University Symphonic Band will perform its spring concert at Seward High School at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, April 17.

The University Symphonic Band of Concordia University, Nebraska, will perform its spring concert at 7 p.m., Tuesday, April 17, at Seward High School Auditorium in Seward, Nebraska. 

“One of the featured elements for this upcoming concert is that the Symphonic Band will be performing music based on historical events or personal life experiences of the composers,” said Andrew Schultz, conductor of the Symphonic Band. “The piece “Crown of Thorns” by Julie Giroux is a musical depiction of the Holy Week events that culminate in Christ’s rising from the tomb on Easter Sunday.  Frank Ticheli’s piece, “An American Elegy” is a musical response to the tragic school shooting at Columbine High School.  “Cityscape” by David Holsinger and “Into the Clouds” by Richard Saucedo are two pieces inspired by each composer’s experiences during flights in airplanes.  In preparing these pieces, it has been interesting for the students and myself to consider the perspective each composer has taken in representing actual events in life through music.”

 The program is rounded out with John Philip Sousa’s “The Thunderer” and medleys from the musical “The Music Man” and the Pixar film “The Incredibles.”

 The University Symphonic Band was formed in 1906 and is the oldest continuing musical organization at Concordia. The ensemble places emphasis on sacred, multicultural and contemporary literature, as well as traditional concert band repertoire.

Members of the 2017–18 University Symphonic (listed by home state, home city, and then last name in alphabetical order): 


Jacob Mikkelson, sophomore, Bellevue, Neb., horn

Dane Pedersen, junior, Columbus, Neb., tuba

Macey Kroeger, sophomore, Dannebrog, Neb., clarinet

Seth Hart, sophomore, Fairbury, Neb., trombone

Nathan Klaumann, junior, Fairbury, Neb., percussion

Abigail Huggins, freshman, Grand Island, Neb., clarinet

Caleb Staehr, junior, Grand, Island, Neb., baritone sax

Zachary Staehr, freshman, Grand Island, Neb., trombone

Jonathan Rippe, junior, Gretna, Neb., euphonium

Chris Warneke, sophomore, Hastings, Neb., alto sax

Britnee Fear, junior, Hershey, Neb., tuba

Hannah Birtell, freshman, Holdrege, Neb., horn

Brooke McNiel, senior, Holdrege, Neb., euphonium

Emma Haas, junior, Lincoln, Neb., percussion

Trenton Dorton, freshman, Lincoln, Neb., alto sax

Clara Rich, junior, Lincoln, Neb., alto sax

Alice Wentz, freshman, Lincoln, Neb., baritone sax

Lukas Sollberger, freshman, Louisville, Neb., trumpet

Amelia Schlichting, freshman, Lyons, Neb., clarinet

Elizabeth Kelley, freshman, McCook, Neb., percussion

Luke Blomenberg, freshman, Norfolk, Neb., trumpet

Katherine Draucker, junior, Ogallala, Neb., flute

Shelby Betterton, sophomore, Omaha, Neb., flute

Avery Kesar, freshman, Omaha, Neb., trumpet

Abigail Jeppesen, freshman, Pleasant Dale, Neb., clarinet

Lydia Jeppesen, junior, Pleasant Dale, Neb., trumpet

Micah Jeppesen, senior, Pleasant Dale, Neb., trombone

Kyra Kennedy, freshman, Purdum, Neb., bass clarinet

Dalton Berry, freshman, Seward, Neb., trumpet

Josh Hendrickson, sophomore, Seward, Neb., euphonium

Nolan Homp, freshman, Seward, Neb., trombone

Joanna Sierra-Mendoza, sophomore, Seward, Neb., percussion

Brittan Taylor, freshman, Seward, Neb., percussion

Colin Renkert, sophomore, Sidney, Neb., percussion

Jacob Sumpter, sophomore, Superior, Neb., percussion

Sara Kettelhake, freshman, Tecumseh, Neb., alto sax

Rebecca Hoffschneider, sophomore, Utica, Neb., flute

Shiloh Richters, freshman, Utica, Neb., trumpet

Caleb Ristvedt, junior, Utica, Neb., trombone

Joel Ristvedt, senior, Utica, Neb., horn

Keziah Bruns, freshman, Waco, Neb., horn

Madeline Smith, junior, Wood River, Neb., alto sax 


Miriam Lipke, sophomore, Alamosa, Colo., clarinet

David Krueger, junior, Aurora, Colo., tenor sax

Naomi Bauer, junior, Cascade, Colo., oboe

Paul Hammes, junior, Colorado Springs, Colo., bassoon

Paul Symes, junior, Woodland Park, Colo., clarinet 


Samuel Smith, sophomore, Broadlands, Ill., tuba

Emma Odorico, junior, Brookfield, Ill.., alto sax

Hayden Rensner, freshman, Effingham, Ill., trumpet

Matthew Kortze, senior, Rockford, Ill., percussion

Jonathan Grant, junior, Waterloo, Ill., trumpet 


Whitney Pottschmidt, junior, Seymour, Ind., oboe 


Cole Wohlgemuth, senior, Alton, Iowa, euphonium

Delaney Doremus, sophomore, Grimes, Iowa, flute 


Elizabeth Frakes, junior, Ellinwood, Kan., flute

Katherine Wehling, junior, Liberal, Kan., flute

Valery Rostek, sophomore, Norton, Kan., tenor sax

Leah Werling, junior, Solomon, Kan., clarinet

Matthew Goltl, sophomore, Wichita, Kan., percussion 


Josiah Schultz, junior, Bay City, Mich., euphonium 


Benjamin Vallin, junior, Eagan, Minn., trumpet

Rachel Krome, sophomore, Fairmont, Minn., trombone

Hannah Watt, freshman, Fairmont, Minn., bass clarinet

Brandon Holmes, sophomore, Waconia, Minn., trumpet


Alexis Burrow, junior, Concordia, Mo., trumpet

Sonja Brandt, sophomore, Knob Noster, Mo., bass clarinet

Elizabeth Bergdolt, freshman, St. Joseph, Mo., horn

Sarah Brutlag, senior, St. Louis, Mo., flute

Sarah Schryver, freshman, St. Louis, Mo., clarinet


Malia Ebel, freshman, Billings, Mont., clarinet

 North Dakota

Dane Wolfgram, freshman, Bismarck, N.D., percussion

 South Dakota

Tatianna Fuerniss, freshman, Delmont, S.D. tenor sax

Hannah Wiedebush, freshman, Mansfield, S.D., trumpet


Rachel Dorn, junior, Houston, Texas, percussion

Mikayla Eifert, senior, Houston, Texas, trombone


Sarah Benz, freshman, Campbellsport, Wis., alto sax