Theater department enacts 1940s-themed mystery show

Published by Concordia University, Nebraska 7 years ago on Fri, Feb 7, 2014 10:00 AM

Theater department enacts 1940s-themed mystery show

The Golden Age of Radio returned as the Concordia theater department presented “Radio Suspense,” a dessert theater production, Feb. 28 and March 1-2.

“This ‘radio-play-within-a-play’ is a tribute to the 1940s shows that families would listen to during the Golden Age of Radio,” Associate Professor of Communication and Theater Bryan Moore said.

The show follows performers in a radio studio preparing to present their weekly program, which includes two mysteries, songs, advertisements and live music and sound effects. The set mimics a 1940s radio studio, with live props and sound effects. Each character represents multiple personalities in the play.

Cast members include:

  • Ned Styles: Sean Carpenter, junior, Hollis, N.H.
  • Sunny Carlson: Sydney Heimann, sophomore, Galesburg, Ill.
  • Rainy Jones: Stephanie Wilde, junior, Parkers Prairie, Minn.
  • Lauren McNair: Julie Marquardt, senior, Janesville, Minn.
  • Allen Burns: Titus Kromminga, freshman, Seward, Neb.
  • Morty Sparks: Andrew Magnus, junior, Springfield, Mo.
  • Lois Lange: Michaela Gierke, junior, Billerica, Mass.
  • Richard Dunlap: Mason Koeritz, sophomore, Northrop, Minn.
  • Jessica Cornell: Rosemary Selking, junior, Chariton, Iowa
  • Billy Hardy: Paul Nelson, freshman, Norfolk, Neb.
  • Douglas Beverly: Mark Gaschler, senior, Imperial, Neb.
  • Katherine Conway: Jenna Karlin, senior, Lincoln, Neb.
  • Gracie Wilson: Stephanie Schroeder, senior, Deshler, Neb.
  • Sandy Sawyer: Alicia Royuk, sophomore, Seward, Neb.
  • Dorothy Doyle: Elyssia Finch, sophomore, Omaha, Neb.

Crew members include:

  • Director: Bryan Moore, associate professor of communication and theater, Seward, Neb.
  • Assistant Director: Kelsey Livingston, senior, Littleton, Colo.
  • Stage Manager: Delaney Sommers, junior, Grain Valley, Mo.
  • Allison Caudle, freshman, Greeley, Colo.
  • Libby Klein, freshman, Northfield, Minn.
  • Beth Williams, junior, Aurora, Colo.