English and communication honor societies induct members at Concordia

Published by Concordia University, Nebraska 8 years ago on Fri, Nov 21, 2014 10:47 AM
Sigma Tau Delta inductees: (back row, l-r) Carolina VonKampen, Stephanie Coley, Emily Taylor, Rachel Dahlke and Dr. Gabriel Haley. (front row, l-r) Hannah Fortna, Karen Webber and Ellen Franzmeier.
Pi Kappa Delta inductees: (back row, l-r) Kyle Munson, Jenna Lehmann, Jalyn Woollen, Carolina VonKampen, Hannah Fortna, Patricio Esquivel and Isaiah Garza. (front row, l-r) Stephanie Shearer, Candace Norman-Kolling, Stephanie Coley, Tara Larsen and Mary Wheeler.

Concordia’s chapters of Sigma Tau Delta and Pi Kappa Delta inducted new members this week. Sigma Tau Delta is a national honor society for students studying English. Pi Kappa Delta is a national honor society for students involved in communication classes and forensics. 

Sigma Tau Delta, sponsored by Assistant Professor of English Gabriel Haley, publishes the university’s annual poetry and short story publication, “Potpourri.” The group also hosts events for Banned Books Week and Mad Hatter Day, among other activities throughout the year.

Pi Kappa Delta helps with Gathering of the Talents, an annual event that brings elementary and middle school students to Concordia to compete in events including writing contests. Pi Kappa Delta also helps promote the Concordia forensics team and other communication-related activities.

“Pi Kappa Delta gives excellent students the opportunity to develop their talents both in and out of the classroom,” said Pi Kappa Delta sponsor Dr. Lisa Ashby.

New inductees into Sigma Tau Delta include:

Taylor Baumeister, senior, De Pere, Wis.

Stephanie Coley, junior, Mitchell, Neb.

Rachel Dahlke, senior, Everett, Wash.

Hannah Fortna, junior, Macon, Mo.

Ellen Franzmeier, senior, Newell, Iowa

Emily Taylor, senior, Pierce, Neb.

Carolina VonKampen, junior, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Karen Webber, senior, Olathe, Kan.


New inductees into Pi Kappa Delta include:

Savanah Baker, junior, Broomfield, Colo.

Kristin Bartlett, sophomore, Cozad, Neb.

Megan Brunssen, junior, Omaha, Neb.

Rebecca Burt, senior, St. Louis, Mo.

Stephanie Coley, junior, Mitchell, Neb.

Rachel Dahlke, senior, Everett, Wash.

Patricio Esquivel, sophomore, Morelia, Mexico

Hannah Fortna, junior, Macon, Mo.

Isaiah Garza, senior, Hailey, Idaho

Madison Hawkins, senior, Omaha, Neb.

Elizabeth Hock, senior, Golden, Colo.

Melonie Kotschwar, junior, Seward, Neb.

Tara Larsen, sophomore, Chandler, Ariz.

Jenna Lehmann, junior, Albion, Neb.

Kyle Munson, junior, Princeton, Ill.

Candace Norman-Kolling, junior, Crawford, Neb.

Jericca Pearson, senior, Gibbon, Neb.

Christina Sereda, post-baccalaureate, East Brunswick, N.J.

Stephanie Shearer, junior, Arapahoe, Neb.

Emily Theiss, junior, Raleigh, N.C.

Carolina VonKampen, junior, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Mary Wheeler, junior, Lee's Summit, Mo.

Jalyn Woollen, junior, Wilcox, Neb.