Department of Natural Sciences bestows student honors

Published by Concordia University, Nebraska 8 years ago on Sat, May 3, 2014 10:43 AM
Concordia’s 2014 Natural Sciences Scholarship winners were Naomi Iltis, Joshua Allwardt and Lara Bergdolt.

The Department of Natural Sciences at Concordia recognized exceptional work and contribution to the science department at its 13th annual awards banquet. Graduating seniors were also honored at the banquet.

“Over the years we have been pleased with the successes of our students both in the classroom and after they complete their programs at Concordia. This year was no exception,” Dr. Joseph Gubanyi, chair of the Natural Sciences department, said. “Once again a number of our students have been accepted into prestigious graduate schools, professional programs and summer internships."

The Natural Sciences Scholarship, funded by current and emeriti faculty, is considered the department’s highest honor and is awarded to outstanding juniors who plan to return to Concordia their senior year. This year’s recipients were Naomi Iltis of Le Claire, Iowa, Joshua Allwardt of Frederick, Maryland, and Lara Bergdolt of Grand Island, Nebraska.

Science Career Support Scholarships were awarded to freshman Brett James of Kearney, Nebraska, and sophomore Justin Lawrie of Headingley, Manitoba, Canada. These scholarships recognize students who have demonstrated great potential in the sciences early in their college education. The award is typically given to outstanding returning sophomores or juniors.

Joshua Allwardt received the Golden Scalpel award as the top student in Gross Anatomy, Concordia’s human cadaver dissection course.

Mason Koeritz of Northrop, Minnesota, and Philip Yox of Mount Pleasant, Texas, were recognized as outstanding freshmen in chemistry for their superior first-year performances in chemistry courses.

The department also recognized outstanding lab assistants for the year. These included senior Jordan Donohoue of Manhattan, Kansas, in biology, Lara Bergdolt in chemistry and senior Erica Ellis of Plain City, Utah, in physics.

Students who received awards or graduation recognition include:

Joshua Allwardt, junior, Frederick, Md., Natural Sciences Scholarship and Golden Scalpel award recipient

Clinton Anderson, senior, Osceola, Neb., biology/chemistry graduate

Amanda Baldwin, senior, Wilber, Neb., biology graduate

Lara Bergdolt, junior, Grand Island, Neb., Natural Sciences Scholarship recipient and outstanding lab assistant recognition

Derek Blessing, senior, Ogallala, Neb., biology/chemistry graduate

Mitchell Cherney, senior, Burnsville, Minn., biology/chemistry graduate

Jordan Donohoue, senior, Manhattan, Kan., biology graduate and outstanding lab assistant recognition

Nathan Douglas, senior, Seward, Neb., physics graduate

Erica Ellis, senior, Plain City, Utah, outstanding lab assistant recognition

Emily Fleming, senior, Gretna, Neb., biology graduate

Tim Fosmo, senior, Casper, Wyo., biology graduate

Garrett Golke, senior, Milford, Iowa, environmental science graduate

Andrew Hammes, senior, Colorado Springs, Colo, biology/chemistry graduate

Thomas Hatesohl, senior, Clay Center, Kan., biology graduate

Naomi Iltis, junior, Le Claire, Iowa, Natural Sciences Scholarship recipient

Brett James, freshman, Kearney, Neb., Science Career Support Scholarship recipient

Langston Jones, senior, Loveland, Colo., biology graduate

Mason Koeritz, freshman, Northrop, Minn., Golden Scalpel award and outstanding freshman recognition

Katelyn Koll, senior, Wilber, Neb., biology/chemistry graduate

Delilah Kond, senior, Seward, Neb., environmental science graduate

Sarah Kortze, senior, Rockford, Ill., biology/chemistry/physics graduate

Justin Lawrie, sophomore, Headingley, Manitoba, Canada, Science Career Support Scholarship recipient

Austin Mogg, senior, Seward, Neb., biology graduate

Adam Prahlow, senior, Florissant, Miss., biology graduate

Jacob Reifenrath, senior, Hartington, Neb., biology graduate

Bradley Schick, senior, Meadow Grove, Neb., biology graduate

Sara Simmons, senior, Sumner, Neb., biology graduate

Lacey Smola, senior, Dwight, Neb., biology graduate

Adam Tanney, senior, St. Louis, Mo., natural science graduate

Ethan Utecht, senior, Valentine, Neb., physics graduate

Nathan Von Rentzell, senior, Arvada, Colo., biology graduate

Derek Wendland, senior, Winona, Minn., biology/chemistry graduate

Philip Yox, freshman, Mount Pleasant, Texas, outstanding freshman recognition