Concordia's Cantamus Women's Choir and Male Chorus present 2018 Spring Concert

Published by Concordia University, Nebraska 5 years ago on Fri, Apr 13, 2018 11:53 AM
Concordia’s Cantamus Women’s Choir and Concordia’s Male Chorus will hold a joint concert at 4 p.m. on Sunday, April 22 at Our Redeemer Lutheran Church.

Concordia’s Cantamus Women’s Choir and Concordia’s Male Chorus will perform a joint spring concert at 4 p.m. on Sunday, April 22 at Our Redeemer Lutheran Church in Staplehurst, Neb.

The program includes a variety of music from spirituals to congregational singing and, of course, choral music. A few of the pieces to be performed are “Song for Athene” by John Tavener, “With Loudest Rejoicing” from J.S. Bach’s Cantata no. 15, “Wait on the Lord” by Rosephanye Powell and the premier performance of “Psalm 8” composed by Concordia senior Austin Theriot among other pieces.

“It’s always very exciting to be able to premier a new work, especially the work of a Concordia student,” said Dr. Jeffrey Blersch, director of the Cantamus Choir.

The auditioned ensembles consist of 45 women and 25 men representing a wide range of academic disciplines. The Cantamus Choir is under the direction of Dr. Jeffrey Blersch, and the Male Choir is conducted by Paul Soulek.

Members of the University Cantamus Women’s Choir (listed alphabetically by state, city and then last name) include:

Sarah Huhn, junior, Valley Center, Calif., soprano II

Megan Vieselmeyer, junior, Holyoke, Colo., alto I

Lauren Sperry, senior, Oneida, Ill., soprano II

Morgan German, junior, Holstein, Iowa, soprano I

Elizabeth Ericksen, junior, Le Mars, Iowa, soprano I

Jayme Lowe, junior, Atchison, Kan., alto I

Jenna Fredrickson, freshman, Concordia, Kan., alto II

Elizabeth Frakes, junior, Ellinwood, Kan., alto I

Olivia Johnson, sophomore, Kansas City, Kan., alto I

Rachel Krome, sophomore, Fairmont, Minn., soprano I

Rebekah Rusert, junior, Truman, Minn., alto II

Rachel Eaton, freshman, Carl Junction, Mo., soprano II

Amanda McDowell, sophomore, Columbia, Mo., soprano I

Emma Gottschamer, senior, Lees Summit, Mo., alto I

Erin Rowland, junior, St. Peters, Mo., soprano I

Alison Coomer, sophomore, Wentzville, Mo., soprano I

Jensen Anderson, sophomore, Beaver Crossing, Neb., alto II

Amanda Ruether, senior, Fremont, Neb., soprano I

Brooke McNiel, senior, Holdrege, Neb., soprano II

Beth Shaw, sophomore, Kearney, Neb., soprano I

Kristen Schmitt, freshman, Lavista, Neb., soprano II

April Bayer, junior, Leigh, Neb., alto I

Allana Blakeman, sophomore, Lincoln, Neb., soprano II

Amy Guenther, freshman, Lincoln, Neb., alto I

Chelsea Irwin, junior, Lincoln, Neb., alto I

Stephanie Barry, sophomore, Omaha, Neb., alto II

Shelby Betterton, sophomore, Omaha, Neb., alto II

Megan Barz, senior, Seward, Neb., alto I

Morgan Brumm, freshman, Seward, Neb., alto II

Sarah Brutlag, senior, Seward, Neb., soprano II

Emily Hayes, senior, Seward, Neb., soprano I

Melody Niemoth, junior, South Bend, Neb., soprano II

Shelby Todd, freshman, Staplehurst, Neb., alto II

Cassie Lopez-Flores, freshman, Sutton, Neb., soprano II

Emma Heidorn, junior, Utica, Neb., soprano II

Rebecca Hoffschneider, sophomore, Utica, Neb., alto I

Sierra Jacob, junior, Winnebago, Neb., alto I

Sarah Groeling, sophomore, Albuquerque, N.M., alto I

Alyssa Montana, sophomore, Centereach, N.Y., soprano II

Kacy Meyer, sophomore, Jenks, Okla., soprano I

Allison Taylor, sophomore, Oklahoma City, Okla., alto I

Katerina Fuller, sophomore, Dallas, Texas, alto I

Cristina Sanchez, freshman, La Grange, Texas, alto II

Victoria Cameron, sophomore, Kent, Wash., soprano II

Abigail Wisniewski, junior, Withee, Wis., alto I


Members of the Male Chorus include:

Aaron Christiansen, freshman, Palmer, Alaska, bass II

Devin Brackin, sophomore, Tampa, Fla., bass I

Kaleb Busche, post-baccalaureate, Fort Wayne, Ind, tenor I

Garion Consier, junior, Churdan, Iowa, tenor II

Isaac Golke, junior, Okoboji, Iowa, tenor II

David Epperson, junior, Panora, Iowa, tenor II

Kaleb Weinkauf, junior, Basehor, Kan., bass II

John Palmer, freshman, Offerle, Kan., bass II

Ethan Symmank, junior, Woodbury, Minn., tenor I

Dane Wolfgram, freshman, Bismarck, N.D., bass I

Dane Pedersen, junior, Columbus, Neb., bass I

Zachary Staehr, freshman, Grand Island, Neb., bass I

Christopher Warneke, sophomore, Hastings, Neb., bass I

Aaron Ferguson, sophomore, Hyannis, Neb., bass II

Joshua Hendrickson, sophomore, Seward, Neb., tenor II

Joel Ristvedt, senior, Seward, Neb., tenor II

Colin Renkert, sophomore, Sidney, Neb., bass I

Peter Deberny, senior, Buffalo, N.Y., tenor I

Alexander Goodwin, senior, Rochester, N.Y., tenor II

Justus Utecht, junior, Rosebud, S.D., bass II

Aaron Jackson, freshman, Palestine, Texas, bass II

Lewis Kasparek, sophomore, The Woodlands, Texas, bass II

Brennan DeForest, junior, West Jordan, Utah, bass I

Zebadiah Uden, freshman, Cedarburg, Wis., bass II

Joel Prince, senior, West Allis, Wis., tenor I