IMPROVables comedy troupe hosts 24-hour IMPROV-a-thon to benefit Peoples City Mission

Published by Concordia University, Nebraska 7 years ago on Mon, Mar 17, 2014 9:53 AM

Concordia's IMPROVables comedy troupe took the stage for its annual IMPROV-a-thon, providing students and the community with 24 consecutive hours of improvisational comedy and serving as a clothing drive for the People's City Mission in Lincoln.

Audience members were asked to bring a piece of new or used clothing as admission to the show. The clothes were then donated to the People’s City Mission.

“We figure this would be easy for students as they clean out their closets for the new, warm season,” Stephanie Schroeder, a Concordia senior and a leader of the IMPROVables, said. “The clothes we’re collecting can be in any condition—People’s City Mission recycles the material for other uses.”

The troupe’s goal with the annual comedy marathon is to support a local organization or person in need of some help. In past years, the IMPROV-a-thon has supported the efforts of local food banks and raised money for a communication device for a child with autism in the community.

“We hope and pray that the student body will be interested in helping us help someone else,” Schroeder said.

The IMPROVables have spent the past two months preparing new games and honing acting skills to keep audiences entertained with the hope of expanding their fan base.

Schroeder said the cast list for each IMPROVables performance varies. “We have an ever-changing list of people since it’s a volunteer group where people are free to come, decide if they like it and come back as they are able,” she said. This year’s IMPROV-a-thon featured two different casts that rotated throughout the event.

Team A included:

Beth Ahlers, sophomore, Pierce, Neb.

Kirsten Awe, senior, Tilden, Neb.

Andrew Crist, sophomore, Springfield, Mo.

Ethan Kesar, sophomore, Omaha, Neb.

Emily Kollbaum, freshman, Concordia, Mo.

Conner Lloyd, junior, Parker, Colo.

Jordan Schut, sophomore, Scribner, Neb.

Team B included:

Elyssia Finch, sophomore, Omaha, Neb.

Natalie Kesar, senior, Omaha, Neb.

Paul Nelson, freshman, Norfolk, Neb.

Stephanie Schroeder, senior, Deshler, Neb.

Izaak Wendorff, freshman, Winthrop, Minn.

Wesly Williams, junior, Vinton, Iowa

Brooke Zarick, junior, Seymour, Ind.