University Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble to perform fall concert

Published by Concordia University, Nebraska 1 year ago on Fri, Oct 11, 2019 12:00 PM
The University Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble will perform its fall concert in the Cattle Conference Room in Janzow Campus Center Tuesday, Oct. 22, at 7 p.m.

The University Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble of Concordia University, Nebraska, will perform its fall concert Tuesday, Oct. 22, at 7 p.m., in the Cattle Conference Room, located in the Janzow Campus Center on Concordia’s campus. The concert is free and open to the public.

“This concert features a broad spectrum of music written and arranged for concert bands and will hopefully be an enjoyable evening for audience members and performers alike,” said Dr. Andrew Schultz, conductor of the Symphonic Band.

The Symphonic Band will perform “Chorale and Alleluia” by Howard Hanson, “Vesuvius” by Frank Ticheli, “Battle Hymn of the Republic” arranged by Peter J. Wilhousky and “The High School Cadets March” by John Philip Sousa. The Wind Ensemble will perform “Rushmore” by Alfred Reed, “Watermelon Club” by Jen Bodewalt Lampe and “The Boys of Wexford March” by Sammy Nestico.

As Concordia University’s principal concert band, the University Symphonic Band is deeply rooted in the 100-year history of instrumental musical ensembles at Concordia. The 80-member Symphonic Band has gained a reputation for engaging and entertaining performances of outstanding sacred and traditional concert band literature. The University Wind Ensemble, a 40-member concert band selected by auditions from the Symphonic Band, is an extension of the band program as the touring concert band that Concordia University on tours throughout the United States.

“Concordia’s first dedicated music professor, Karl Hasse, organized the first instrumental music ensemble in 1906 and the Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble continues to build on the legacy and tradition of excellence in instrumental music at Concordia University, Nebraska,” said Schultz. “Among the instrumental conductors following Hasse were Henry Hardt, Paul Rosel, Charles Krutz, Arthur Fliege, Timothy Nord, James Koerschen, Greg Olsen and William Kuhn.”

Members of the 2019–20 University Symphonic Band (listed by home state, home city and then last name in alphabetical order):


Olivia Leising, freshman, Arapahoe, Neb., clarinet

Evan Hammang, freshman, Arlington, Neb., percussion

Danae Welling, senior, Ashland, Neb., tuba

Rebekah Henschen, sophomore, Bancroft, Neb., trombone

Ethan Mayes, freshman, Beemer, Neb., trombone

Jacob Mikkelson, senior, Bellevue, Neb., horn

Jonathan Deardoff, senior, Bennington, Neb., percussion

Julia Witt, freshman, Columbus, Neb., bass clarinet

Jayson Klaumann, freshman, Fairbury, Neb., percussion

Autumn Johnson, sophomore, Fremont, Neb., alto sax

Elizabeth Bergdolt, junior, Grand Island, Neb., horn

Abigail Huggins, junior, Grand Island, Neb., clarinet

Zachary Staehr, junior, Grand Island, Neb., trombone

Trenton Bruntz, sophomore, Hastings, Neb., trumpet

Chris Warneke, senior, Hastings, Neb., alto sax

Megan Kroeker, junior, Henderson, Neb., flute

Hannah Birtell, junior, Holdrege, Neb., horn

Nathan Birtell, freshman, Holdrege, Neb., tenor sax

Lydia Grimpo, freshman, Lincoln, Neb., oboe

Rebekah Guilford, sophomore, Lincoln, Neb., trumpet

Tyler Scholz, freshman, Lincoln, Neb., trombone

Lukas Sollberger, junior, Louisville, Neb., trumpet

Amelia Schlichting, Lyons, Neb., clarinet

Dylan Cookus, sophomore, Milford, Neb., percussion

Caleb Hazzard, freshman, Minden, Neb., horn

Emma Baumann, freshman, Norfolk, Neb., horn

Morgan Herrera, sophomore, Omaha, Neb., percussion

Thomas Johnson, senior, Omaha, Neb., clarinet

Avery Kesar, junior, Omaha, Neb., trumpet

Rose Nigh, sophomore, Omaha, Neb., tenor sax

Richele Masin, freshman, Ord, Neb., trumpet

Abigail Jeppesen, junior, Pleasant Dale, Neb., clarinet

Josh Hendrickson, senior, Seward, Neb., euphonium

Elisha Meyer, freshman, Seward, Neb., trumpet

Brittan Taylor, junior, Seward, Neb., percussion

Shelby Todd, sophomore, Staplehurst, Neb., clarinet

Sara Kettelhake, junior, Tecumseh, Neb., alto sax

Rebecca Hoffschneider, junior, Utica, Neb., flute

Shiloh Richters, junior, Utica, Neb., trumpet

Tabitha Ristvedt, sophomore, Utica, Neb., alto sax

Keziah Bruns, junior, Waco, Neb., horn

Elizabeth Gierke, sophomore, Waverly, Neb., flute


Ben Toenjes, freshman, Bakersfield, Calif., tuba


Esther Langness, freshman, Englewood, Colo., flute

Gabe Jofre, senior, Sterling, Colo., alto sax


Marlee Hubach, freshman, Caldwell, Idaho, bassoon


Samuel Smith, senior, Broadlands, Ill., tuba

Amanda Munzert, freshman, Edwardsville, Ill., flute

Hayden Rensner, junior, Effingham, Ill., trumpet


Bethany Zeckzer, sophomore, New Haven, Ind., baritone sax

Whitney Pottschmidt, senior, Seymour, Ind., oboe


Jennifer Horne, freshman, Canton, Kan., horn

Jenna Fredrickson, junior, Concordia, Kan., trumpet

Valery Rostek, senior, Norton, Kan., tenor sax

Matthew Goltl, senior, Witchita, Kan., percussion


Sarah Weber, freshman, Manchester, Iowa, trombone


Rachel Smithley, junior, Waldorf, Md., trumpet


Hannah Watt, junior, Fairmont, Minn., bass clarinet

Parker Esterberg, senior, Independence, Minn., percussion

Lauren Holmlund, sophomore, Maple Grove, Minn., flute

Joshua Marlatt, sophomore, Mound, Minn., trumpet

Brandon Holmes, senior, Waconia, Minn., trumpet

Sierra Geistfeld, freshman, Saint James, Minn., trumpet


Sarah Armbrust, sophomore, Ballwin, Mo., percussion

Faith Brown, freshman, Concordia, Mo., flute

Leigha Meyer, freshman, Fenton, Mo., flute

Sonja Brandt, senior, Knob Noster, Mo., clarinet


Malia Ebel, junior, Billings, Mont., clarinet

North Dakota

Dane Wolfgram, sophomore, Bismark, N.D., percussion

South Dakota

Jessica Berg, junior, Brandon, S.D., horn

Erik Fuerniss, sophomore, Delmont, S.D., trombone

Hannah Wiedebush, sophomore, Mansfield, S.D., trumpet

Karissa Ternus, sophomore, Valley Springs, S.D., trombone


Hannah Eatherton, sophomore, Garland, Texas, trumpet

Rebekah Eatherton, sophomore, Garland, Texas, flute

Rebecca Yox, freshman, Mount Pleasant, Texas, flute


Sarah Benz, junior, Campbellsport, Wis., alto sax

Aaron Huesmann, senior, Jackson, Wis., euphonium