Six Bulldogs tabbed All-GPAC; Olson voted coach of the year

By Jacob Knabel on Feb. 28, 2018 in Women's Basketball

Women’s Basketball All-GPAC

SEWARD, Neb. – After capturing GPAC regular season and postseason titles, the Concordia University women’s basketball team landed four players on the conference’s first or second teams and two others on the honorable mention list, as announced by the GPAC on Wednesday (Feb. 28). The pilot of another special season, 12th-year head coach Drew Olson raked in the third GPAC coach of the year award of his career.

First team honors went to sophomore Philly Lammers and junior Quinn Wragge. Second team accolades were handed out to seniors Dani Hoppes and Mary Janovich. Freshman Taylor Cockerill and senior Brenleigh Daum picked up honorable mention awards.

Since beginning his tenure prior to the 2006-07 season, Olson has led the program to a combined eight conference championships (four regular season, four tournament). The Bulldogs are now getting set to make their 10th national tournament appearance under Olson, who has guided his teams to three national semifinal advancements over the past six tournaments. Earlier this season, Olson reached 300 career victories. His overall record now stands at 314-92 (.773).

Lammers made a strong push for GPAC player of the year accolades (the honor went to Morningside’s Madison Braun). The Omaha native enjoyed a particularly dominant run through the GPAC tournament. She’ll enter the national tournament averaging 13.2 points, 8.1 rebounds, 2.4 steals and 1.2 blocks. She is shooting 51.2 percent from the floor and 72.5 percent from the free throw line. Lammers recorded a career best 31 points in an overtime win at No. 9 Jamestown on Nov. 4. Now a two-time first team All-GPAC honoree, Lammers collected NAIA national player of the week accolades after leading Concordia to a win at then No. 1 Saint Xavier University. She was also named to the CIT all-tournament team.

Wragge, who hails from Crofton, Neb., has reeled in first team All-GPAC honors in each of her three seasons as a Bulldog. She joined the 1,000-point club early this season and now ranks 14th on the school’s all-time scoring list with 1,316 career points. Over 32 games, Wragge is averaging 13.0 points, 5.4 rebounds and 1.5 steals while shooting 61.8 percent from the field, 45.5 percent from the 3-point line and 80.3 percent from the charity stripe. Her 27 points in the win at Dakota Wesleyan were a season high and led to her being tabbed the GPAC player of the week.

Hoppes moved up from honorable mention last season to the second team as a senior. The Lincoln native notched CIT MVP recognition while powering the program’s 28th CIT title. The sharpshooting guard has knocked down 78 3-point field goals and has made 37.1 percent of her attempts from long distance. She is averaging 10.0 points and 1.7 steals per game. Hoppes eclipsed 1,000 career points in a 20-point outing in a home win over Dordt on Jan. 20. Her 22 points in a CIT win over Concordia-Ann Arbor were a personal best since transferring from Midland.

A four-year starter, Janovich has collected first or second team all-conference honors in each of her collegiate seasons. The Gretna, Neb., native also surpassed 1,000 career points this season as part of another stellar campaign. This season Janovich is averaging 9.5 points, 2.7 assists, 2.3 rebounds and 1.9 steals per game. The 2016-17 GPAC defensive player of the year is shooting 51.7 percent from the floor, marking the fourth year in a row she’s shot better than 50 percent. She is also shooting 45.5 percent from 3-point range and 86.5 percent from the free throw line.

Cockerill has made a smooth transition from Waverly High School the collegiate game. She tallied a season best 20 points in her very first contest as a Bulldog. She’s averaging 9.6 points, 4.1 rebounds, 2.4 assists and 1.4 steals per game. A four-year contributor, Daum has drained 75 3-point shots and is averaging 10.4 points and 1.2 steals per game.

The Bulldogs now look forward to the national tournament (March 7-13) in Sioux City, Iowa. The bracket will be released today (Feb. 28) by the NAIA.