Olson earns co-State College Coach of the Year accolade

By on Jun. 16, 2015 in Women's Basketball

Olson earns co-State College Coach of the Year accolade

SEWARD, Neb. – A 2015 run to the national championship game has led to Concordia head women’s basketball coach Drew Olson being named co-State College Coach of the Year, as awarded by the Lincoln Journal Star on Monday. Olson joins Todd Voss (2005) as the second coach in the history of the program to earn the distinction.

This marks the second 2015 coaching honor for Olson, who was also tabbed the NAIA Region 2 coach of the year. The Bulldog alum also received both GPAC and regional coach of the year recognition following the 2011-12 season. The 2014-15 squad finished the season at 35-3 overall, ranked No. 2 nationally and was the GPAC tournament champion.

Olson owns program coaching records for overall wins (226), conference wins (122), national tournament wins (11) and national tournament appearances (seven). Over the last four seasons, Concordia has won two GPAC regular-season championships and has captured two GPAC tournament trophies. The veteran head coach has guided Concordia to seven national tournament trips over the past eight seasons. His teams have an active streak of 52-straight top 25 poll appearances.

In Olson’s nine seasons, Concordia players have been named first, second or third team All-Americans a total of nine times. Two-time GPAC player of the year Bailey Morris blossomed with the help of Olson. This season she was named the program’s first-ever national player of the year.

Olson and Einspahr are the fifth and sixth Concordia coaches to receive State College Coach of the Year billing.

All-time Concordia state college coaches of the year
2015 – Kregg Einspahr (track and field) / Drew Olson (women’s basketball)
2005 – Todd Voss (women’s basketball)
1992 – Grant Schmidt (men’s basketball)
1982 – Wayne Rasmussen
1971 – John Seevers