Track programs top NAIA in All-Academic honors

By Jacob Knabel on Jul. 16, 2020 in Track & Field


SEWARD, Neb. – Both Concordia University track and field programs rank among the best in the nation in terms of academic performance. A total of 31 Bulldogs were named All-Academic Athletes by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association on Thursday (July 16). In addition, Head Coach Matt Beisel’s men’s and women’s squads were recognized as All-Academic Teams. Concordia led the NAIA with 21 women’s honorees and topped the nation with 10 men’s award winners.

In order to meet qualifications for All-Academic Athlete status, student-athletes must have at least a 3.25 cumulative grade-point average, have achieved an ‘A’ or ‘B’ standard mark in a championship event and have completed at least two semesters at their certifying institution.

The complete list of Concordia All-Academic Athletes is shown below. The group includes 2020 NAIA indoor national champions Rachel Battershell (400 meters) and Jacob Cornelio (weight throw). The group features additional 2020 All-Americans in Chase Berry (pole vault), Mika Brees (4x400 relay), Allie Brooks (pole vault), Morgan De Jong (weight throw), Gavin DeHaai (pole vault), Sarah Lewis (4x400 relay), Jacee Pfeifer (4x400 relay), Josie Puelz (pole vault), Xavier Ross (400 meters) and Addie Shaw (runner up in weight throw and shot put).

Beisel’s teams put together a strong indoor season in 2020. The women won the GPAC title and then took home a trophy after placing fourth at the NAIA national championship meet. Meanwhile, the men placed third in the GPAC and 17th nationally.

Men’s All-Academic Athletes
Taylor Beck
Chase Berry
Jacob Cornelio
Gavin DeHaai
Colton Meyer
Tucker Platt
Benjamin Pratt
Henry Reimer
Xavier Ross
Sam Sisco

Women’s All-Academic Athletes
Rachel Battershell
Mika Brees
Jamey Broman
Allie Brooks
Morgan De Jong
Alyssa Fye
McKenzie Gravo
Kylahn Heritage
Rebekah Hinrichs
Sarah Lewis
Emily Loy
Erin Mapson
Tristen Metzger
Kennedy Mogul
Cora Olson
Jacee Pfeifer
Josie Puelz
Sarah Ragland
Miranda Rathjen
Katie Severt
Addie Shaw