Concordia Track & Field tops nation with 60 NAIA Scholar-Athletes

By Jacob Knabel on May. 24, 2023 in Track & Field

2023 NAIA Track & Field Scholar-Athletes: Men | Women

SEWARD, Neb. – Sixty Bulldogs have represented Concordia University Track & Field with 2023 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete recognition. Those individuals were officially honored along with the NAIA announcement on Wednesday (May 24). Head Coach Matt Beisel’s program led the nation in NAIA Scholar-Athletes for both men and women. The full list of Bulldog award winners can be found below.

The 2022-23 list of track & field honorees features 1,076 student-athletes on the women’s side and 805 on the men’s side. In order to be nominated by an institution’s head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must appear on the eligibility certificate for the sport and have attended one full year at said institution.

The list of 2023 NAIA Scholar-Athletes includes past CoSIDA Academic All-Americans in Rachel Battershell, Zach Bennetts, Erin Mapson and Josie Puelz. Among the honorees are several individuals who were also recognized as NAIA Scholar-Athletes for cross country.

Concordia University ranks as the NAIA’s all-time leader in number of Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes with 2,121 entering the 2022-23 academic year. The school record for number of Scholar-Athletes in one academic year is 226 achieved in 2019-20. Concordia has been a regular national leader for both Scholar-Athletes and Scholar-Teams.

2023 Track & Field NAIA Scholar-Athletes


·        Logan Adam (Crete, Neb.)

·        Zach Bennetts (Denton, Neb.)

·        Chase Berry (Seward, Neb.)

·        Jack Ellis (Bend, Ore.)

·        Marc Freiberg (Seward, Neb.)

·        Thomas Gorline (St. Louis, Mo.)

·        Charlie Hayden (Elkhorn, Neb.)

·        Ethan Ideus (Seward, Neb.)

·        Quinton Janecek (Gering, Neb.)

·        Zachary Johnson (Aberdeen, S.D.)

·        Wyatt Loga (Bee, Neb.)

·        Colton Meyer (Eagle, Neb.)

·        Teagan Meyer (Alta, Iowa)

·        Ben Moll (Seward, Neb.)

·        Nathan Pennekamp (Fort Wayne, Ind.)

·        Joel Rathe (Sterling, Neb.)

·        Calvin Rohde (Reed City, Mich.)

·        Darien Semedo (Sacramento, Calif.)

·        Camden Sesna (Kearney, Neb.)

·        Kadin Vrbas (Imperial, Neb.)

·        Logan Walgate (St. Charles, Mo.)

·        Micah Willweber (Kailua, Hawaii)

·        Zach Zohner (Battle Creek, Neb.)


·        Lauren Ada (DeSoto, Kan.)

·        Emily Agena (Sterling, Neb.)

·        Elena Batenhorst (Columbus, Neb.)

·        Rachel Battershell (Wheatland, Wyo.)

·        Greta Corneliusen (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

·        Amira Cummings (Cheyenne, Wyo.)

·        Mickey Curl (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

·        Lauren Dawson (Cedar Falls, Iowa)

·        Kylahn Freiberg (Nampa, Idaho)

·        Abigail Gerber (Columbus, Neb.)

·        Peyton Gissler (Malcolm, Neb.)

·        Rylee Haecker (Davenport, Neb.)

·        Sara Huss (Fairbury, Neb.)

·        Ellie Jander (St. Louis, Mo.)

·        Rhaya Kaschinske (Fort Wayne, Ind.)

·        Skylar Kreifels (Lincoln, Neb.)

·        Emily Loseke (Leigh, Neb.)

·        Erin Mapson (Lincoln, Neb.)

·        Amie Martin (Arnold, Mo.)

·        Anna McCoy (Grand Island, Neb.)

·        Taylor Moes (Elm Creek, Neb.)

·        Hannah Mundt (Blue Springs, Mo.)

·        Hannah Newton (Crete, Neb.)

·        Katelyn Nix (Fort Wayne, Ind.)

·        Erin Painter (Ainsworth, Neb.)

·        Grace Pennekamp (Fort Wayne, Ind.)

·        Mary Pennekamp (Fort Wayne, Ind.)

·        Kamryn Pokorney (Shelby, Neb.)

·        Josie Puelz (Lincoln, Neb.)

·        Aubrey Rathke (Fremont, Neb.)

·        Grace Reimer (Hartland, Wis.)

·        Kellie Rhodes (Mullinville, Kan.)

·        Amy Richert (Gresham, Neb.)

·        Amanda Steinke (Milwaukee, Wis.)

·        Trinity Tuls (Columbus, Neb.)

·        Jaiden Tweton (Ashland, Neb.)

·        Lainey Werts (St. Edward, Neb.)