Four Bulldogs chosen to All-Midlands Softball Team

By Jacob Knabel on Jul. 3, 2023 in Softball

SEWARD, Neb. – A quartet of Bulldogs represented Concordia University Softball with recognition on the 2023 All-Midlands Softball Team, as selected by the Omaha World-Herald and announced on July 3. All four Bulldog selections were named to the honorable mention list: Hanna Bowers, Aubrey Bruning, Megan Eurich and Kylie Shottenkirk. This past spring, Bowers, Bruning and Shottenkirk each garnered Honorable Mention All-GPAC accolades.

The World-Herald’s All-Midlands Softball Team features the top players from Nebraska four-year colleges and universities outside of the NCAA Division I level. The 2023 team (listed at bottom) includes players from NAIA and NCAA Division II and III institutions. The four Bulldog honorees led the way for the program during Head Coach Brock Culler’s first year at the helm.

2023 Concordia All-Midlands Team Honorees

Hanna Bowers | Surprise, Ariz. (HM)
2023 stats: 45 G, .361 BA, 25 R, 52 H, 12 2B, 2 HR, 25 RBIs, .416 OBP, .500 SLG, 5 SB, .916 FD%

Aubrey Bruning | Lincoln, Neb. (HM)
2023 stats: 41 G, .363 BA, 21 R, 29 H, 1 2B, 7 RBIs, .427 OBP, .375 SLG, 8 SB, .944 FD%

Megan Eurich | Gretna, Neb. (HM)
2023 stats: 24 G (21 starts), 9-12 W-L, 3.76 ERA, 136 IP, 165 H, 73 ER, 31 BB, 108 K, .293 Opp BA

Kylie Shottenkirk | Lincoln, Neb. (HM)
2023 stats: 37 G, .360 BA, 21 R, 41 H, 12 2B, 3 HR, 21 RBIs, .430 OBP, .544 SLG, 4 SB, .893 FD%

2023 Omaha World-Herald All-Midlands Softball Team

P: Delaney Farnsworth, Chadron State
P: Lauren Jurek, Bellevue
P: Camry Moore, Doane
* P: Aliyah Rincon, Midland
P: Elise Warneke, Nebraska Wesleyan
C: Kim Vidlak, Wayne State
1B: Reese Floro, Bellevue
2B: Liana McMurtry, Bellevue
SS: Carly Pfitzer, Midland
3B: Roni Foote, Midland
OF: Emily Prai, Midland
OF: Sami Reding, Bellevue
OF: Sydney Schelkopf, Hastings
DP: Lauren Zimmerman, Chadron State
U: Sydney Thomason, UNK

Honorable Mention – Bellevue: Katie Cunningham, Savannah Gunn, Ashley Young. Chadron State: Mackenzi Kroll, Tori Haug. Concordia: Hanna Bowers, Aubrey Bruning, Megan Eurich, Kylie Shottenkirk. Doane: Grace Dowding, Angelina Esqueda. Hastings: Kyleigh Boever, Katyn Kappler, Macie Mays, Lexie Mudloff. Midland: Alexis Page, Keira Painter, Amanda Schmaderer. Nebraska Wesleyan: Emma Alfieri, Val Gerlach, Sami MacDonald. Peru State: Kaelyn Hamblen, Ellie Ohlde, Carlye Rothschild. College of Saint Mary: Megan Garcia, Macy Homes. Wayne State: Riley Holmberg, Lauren Laudick. York: Katherine Arceo, Lauren Chapman.

*  – denotes honorary captain