Nine Bulldogs represent men's soccer program with 2023 Scholar-Athlete honors

By Jacob Knabel on Nov. 25, 2023 in Men's Soccer

2023 Men’s Soccer NAIA Scholar-Athletes

SEWARD, Neb. – Nine Bulldogs from the Concordia University Men’s Soccer program were honored on Friday (Nov. 24) for their work in the classroom. The list of 2023 Daktronics NAIA Scholar-Athletes includes repeat Bulldog award winners in Josh Bergt, Iker Casanova, Victor Meneses and Isaiah Shaddick. First time honorees are Nolan Fuelberth, Slade Leicht, Manuel Rodriguez, Matthew Schultz and Adrian Wambua.

The 2023 list of men’s soccer honorees nationally includes 1,032 student-athletes. In order to be nominated by an institution’s head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must appear on the eligibility certificate for the sport and have attended one full year at said institution.

Head Coach Jason Weides’ 2023 squad excelled on the field while finishing with a 13-1-4 overall record. The Bulldogs climbed as high as No. 18 in the NAIA coaches’ poll. All-GPAC awards were claimed by eight Concordia players, including first teamers Ferdi Hagen, Carter Hinman and Schultz. A Lincoln Southwest High School alum, Schultz was also recently named an Academic All-District award winner by College Sports Communicators. Shultz earned his degree from Concordia in Biology (minors in Chemistry and Psychology).

Concordia University ranks as the NAIA’s all-time leader in number of Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes with 2,322 entering the 2023-24 academic year. The school record for number of Scholar-Athletes in one academic year is 226 achieved in 2019-20. Concordia has been a regular national leader for both Scholar-Athletes and Scholar-Teams.

2023 Concordia Men’s Soccer Scholar-Athletes

·        Josh Bergt (Fairmont, Minn.)

·        Iker Casanova (Mexico City, Mexico)

·        Nolan Fuelberth (Lincoln, Neb.)

·        Slade Leicht (Sachse, Texas)

·        Victor Meneses (Petropolis, Brazil)

·        Manuel Rodriguez (Jerez de la Frontera, Spain)

·        Matt Schultz (Lincoln, Neb.)

·        Isaiah Shaddick (Lincoln, Neb.)

·        Adrian Wambua (Nairobi, Kenya)