Lehenbauer tabbed NAIA National Scholar Player of the Year

By Jacob Knabel on Dec. 20, 2017 in Men's Soccer

SEWARD, Neb. – Already named to the coaches’ association’s NAIA Scholar All-America Team, senior Micah Lehenbauer picked up an honor of even greater significance on Wednesday (Dec. 20). The United Soccer Coaches chose Lehenbauer as its NAIA National Scholar Player of the Year.

The United Soccer Coaches National Scholar Player of the Year awards recognize outstanding individuals from the association’s Scholar All-America teams at the youth through college ranks. Lehenbauer will be honored along with other National Player of the Year and National Scholar Player of the Year award winners at the United Soccer Coaches All-America Luncheon on Jan. 20, 2018, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in conjunction with the 2018 coaches convention in Philadelphia.

A native of Kathleen, Ga., Lehenbauer has collected numerous honors this fall after helping head coach Jason Weides’ men’s soccer program to a school record 16 wins and a third-straight appearance in the GPAC tournament championship game. In addition to his recognition from the United Soccer Coaches, Lehenbauer has earned first team All-GPAC and NAIA second team All-Plains Region accolades and one 2017 GPAC offensive player of the week award.

Lehenbauer shared the team goal scoring lead with 12, a number that ranked fourth best among GPAC players. Lehenbauer moved up to the GPAC’s first team this season after collecting second team accolades as a junior. Over 76 career games played as a Bulldog, Lehenbauer totaled 27 goals and seven assists. He posted three game-winning goals in 2017. He turned in a hat trick in the Sept. 26 win over Mount Marty. Lehenbauer is a marketing major.

2017 United Soccer Coaches National Scholar Players of the Year

NCAA DI Men: Brandon Bye, Western Michigan University
NCAA DI Women: Imani Dorsey, Duke
NAIA Men: Micah Lehenbauer, Concordia University (Neb.)
NAIA Women: Rosie McShane, Benedictine College
NCAA DII Men: Johan Mauritzson, LIU Post
NCAA DII Women: Lauren Wade, Carson-Newman University
NCAA DIII Men: Concor Coleman, Tufts University
NCAA DIII Women: Jenna McKinney, University of Chicago
Junior College Men: Luke Murphy, Herkimer College
Junior College Women: Britney Johnson, Folsom Lake College
High School Boys: Joseph Bhangdia, Lewisburg Area High School (Pa.)
High School Girls: Joanna Harber, Bellevue High School (Wash.)