Hernandez highlights OWH All-Nebraska selections

By Jacob Knabel on Dec. 25, 2016 in Men's Soccer

SEWARD, Neb. – Marcelo Hernandez and four others represented the Concordia University men’s soccer program on the NAIA All-Nebraska team released on Christmas day by the Omaha World-Herald. Hernandez appeared among the 14 members of the All-Nebraska team while teammates Florian Caraballo, Mark Horsburgh, Micah Lehenbauer and Lewis Rathbone were listed among the honorable mention selections.

Both Caraballo and Hernandez were first team All-GPAC choices. Hernandez made his Concordia debut in 2016. While starting 17 games, the native of Quito, Ecuador, tied a team high with eight goals. In addition, he assisted four goals. Four of Hernandez’s goals were game winners.

Caraballo, a native of Cordoba, Spain, started all 20 games as a defender for a Bulldog squad limited opponents to an average of 1.15 goals per game (third in the GPAC). He also contributed two assists. A transfer, Caraballo previously attended Marshalltown Community College.

A two-year starter, Horsburgh started every game in goal this season and recorded four shutouts. He also equaled a career best with 84 saves while posting a save percentage of .785 and a goals against average of 1.185. During his career, Horsburgh played in nearly 4,000 minutes and put up 202 saves and 14 shutouts.

Like Caraballo, Lehenbauer started all 20 games. He shared the team goal scoring lead with Hernandez and chipped in three assists. The native of Kathleen, Ga., posted multi-goal games against Nebraska Wesleyan and Mount Marty. Rathbone was a second team all-GPAC choice last season. He tallied three of his five goals in 2016 during postseason play.

Head coach Jason Weides’ 2016 team finished 11-7-2 overall and advanced to the GPAC championship game for the second-straight season.

2016 NAIA All-Nebraska Men’s Soccer Team
F: Daniel Whitehall, So. Hastings
F: Ali Sodal, Sr. Midland
F: Marcelo Hernandez, Sr. Concordia
F: Adam Knight, Sr. Hastings
M: Marc Tautz, Jr. Hastings
M: Daniel Wheeler, Fr. Midland
M: Rob Smith, Jr. Bellevue
M: Daniel Coupland, Jr. Bellevue
D: Harrison Rogers, Jr. Midland
D: Erik Tello, So. Hastings
D: Damien Austen, Jr. Hastings
D: Scott Robson, Jr. Bellevue
G: Joe White, Jr. Hastings
G: Shazz Heale, Jr. Midland

Honorary captain: Daniel Whitehall, Hastings

Honorable mention: Finlay Bloodworth, Edgar Guzman, Ben Martin, Bellevue; Florian Caraballo, Mark Horsburgh, Micah Lehenbauer, Lewis Rathbone, Concordia; Luis Castaneda, Gabe Garbin, Daniel Maganda, Zak Stevenson, Doane; Agustin Jacquez, Alex Drent, Jose Valadez, Nick Scholl, Spencer Hoyt, Grace; Daniel Fragachan, Nick Hinds, Daniel Linstead, Brayant Toro, Hastings; Lee Bishop, Cesar Cuellar, Mattia Pace, Robert Wiseman, Midland; Jake Kennedy, Brady Blazek, Alex Day, Will Weber, Nebraska Wesleyan.