Four men's soccer Bulldogs receive all-Nebraska honorable mention

By on Dec. 25, 2014 in Men's Soccer

Four men’s soccer Bulldogs receive all-Nebraska honorable mention

SEWARD, Neb. – Four players represented the Concordia University men’s soccer team with honorable mention recognition on the Midlands College All-Nebraska team released on Christmas day by the Omaha World-Herald. Both senior Chris DeFeyter and junior Gideon Soenksen have earned the honor for the second-straight year while senior Brendan Buchanan and sophomore Mark Campbell are first time All-Nebraska selections.

Soenksen, a 2014 first team all-conference choice, enjoyed a career best season. The former Lincoln Lutheran High School standout topped the Bulldogs in both goals (six) and assists (four) while playing an attacking midfield. Soenksen recorded two goals and an assist in a 4-1 win over Sterling College Sept. 12 for his first career multi-goal effort. A fixture in Concordia’s starting lineup since his arrival, Soenksen has played in all 58 games over the past three seasons, putting up a combined 10 goals and 11 assists.

DeFeyter, second team all-GPAC for the second year in a row and native of Scottsdale, Ariz., contributed five goals (two game winners) and three assists while starting all 20 games. DeFeyter made waves on Oct. 4 when he turned in an impressive bicycle kick goal as part of a two-goal performance at Dordt. DeFeyter finished his career with 14 goals and six assists over 70 games.

Meanwhile, Campbell served as the anchor of a backline that posted eight shutouts and collaborated on a goals against average of 1.0 (second best in the conference). He helped Buchanan register seven shutouts to go along with 86 saves and a goals against average of .950. He nearly led an upset of No. 11 Hastings in the GPAC semifinals by making 11 saves.

OWH All-Nebraska Team
F Jake Ramsay, Hastings Sr.
F Alan Craig, Midland Sr.
F Isaac Beber, Doane Sr.
F Tobias Maertzke, Bellevue Jr.
M Manny Lira, Bellevue Sr.
M Jeremy De Hoog, Midland Fr.
M Marc Tautz, Hastings Fr.
M Gabe Garbin, Doane So.
D Alan Carr, Bellevue Jr.
D Tyler Ortlieb, Hastings Sr.
D Harrison Rogers, Midland So.
D Nick Saunders, Midland Jr.
G Scott Robertson, Bellevue Sr.
G Alex Guyer, Hastings Jr.

Honorary captain: Alex Guyer, Hastings

Honorable mention: Jamie Henderson, Jacob Pease, Rob Smith, Lee Woolmore, Bellevue; Brendan Buchanan, Mark Campbell, Chris DeFeyter, Gideon Soenksen, Concordia; Casey Clark, Zackry Stevenson, Nik Stevenson, Doane; Shane Davidson, Lucas Venegas, Hastings; Shazz Heale, Midland; Brady Blazek, Wes Smith, Nebraska Wesleyan; Saniago Castano, Luis Sanchez, Job Yapp, York College.