Prolific pass catching Koehlmoos tabbed NAIA Honorable Mention All-America

By Jacob Knabel on Dec. 15, 2022 in Football

2022 NAIA Football All-Americans (AFCA)

SEWARD, Neb. – The list of postseason honors keeps growing for Korrell Koehlmoos. The prolific pass catcher was recognized as a 2022 NAIA Honorable Mention All-American on Thursday (Dec. 15). This marks the eighth year in a row, and 10th in the past 11, that the Concordia University Football program has produced at least one All-American. Named a First Team All-GPAC honoree, Koehlmoos has collected All-America honors for the first time in his career.

Below were Koehlmoos’ national rankings for the 2022 season:

·        No. 1 in receptions per game (9.5)

·        No. 1 in total receptions (95)

·        No. 5 in receiving yards per game (102.4)

·        T-No. 8 in receiving touchdowns (12)

·        No. 8 in total receiving yards (1,024)

In the greatest statistical season ever by a Bulldog receiver, Koehlmoos eclipsed program single season standards in every major category: receptions (95), receiving yards (1,024) and receiving touchdowns (12). He also rose to the top of the charts in career receptions (221) and career receiving yards (2,894). The career records Koehlmoos broke were previously held by Ross Wurdeman in receptions (168) and Jared Garcia in receiving yards (2,495). Koehlmoos became the first player in school history to surpass 1,000 receiving yards in a season. According to available records, no other Concordia receiver had ever been named an All-American.

Koehlmoos, also named First Team All-GPAC in 2020, handled punting duties in addition to his work as the NAIA’s leading receiver. This season, the Pilger, Neb., native punted 58 times for 2,323 yards for an average of 40.1 yards per attempt. He landed 22 of his punts inside the opposition’s 20. Over 48 career collegiate games, Koehlmoos piled up 4,557 all-purpose yards, including 1,680 via kick return.

Just prior to the final game of the 2022 season, Koehlmoos wrote the following via social media, “Thank you for the best moments and best memories. My whole life has been about watching football and playing football. My first game playing football to my first high school game to first college game to my last. There have been great memories and friendships created in those 15 years. As I get ready for the last time in my college career, I know one thing for sure, the game of football will not see the last of me. Whether it’s playing or coaching football. Football will still be part of my life for a long, long time. Thank you Concordia, my coaches, family and especially my teammates. One last ride. Skodawgs #5out”

Following the season, Koehlmoos accepted an invitation to compete in the 2023 Podyum All-Star Bowl. More information about that game can be found HERE.


2022 – Korrell Koehlmoos, receiver (honorable mention – AFCA)

2021 – Lane Napier, linebacker (first team – AFCA)

2021 – Garrett Schardt, tight end (honorable mention – AFCA)

2020 – Lane Napier, linebacker (second team – AFCA)

2019 – Lane Napier, linebacker (honorable mention – AFCA)

2018 – Lane Napier, linebacker (first team – Associated Press; honorable mention – NAIA)

2017 – Tarence Roby, defensive back (first team – Associated Press; second team – AFCA)

2016 – Trey Barnes, defensive line (first team – AFCA)

2015 – Trey Barnes, defensive line (second team – AFCA)

2013 – Darnell Woods, safety (first team – AFCA)

2012 – Derek Blessing, punt returner (first team – Beyond Sports Network)

2012 – Kenny Zoeller, kicker (first team – AFCA)

2007 – JaMaine Lewis, running back (second team – Victory Sports Network)

2007 – Jeff Neujahr, kick/punt returner (honorable mention – Victory Sports Network)

2006 – Jeff Neujahr, kick/punt returner (honorable mention – Victory Sports Network)

2004 – Matthew Egger, punter

2002 – Sean Stewart, safety (second team)

2001 – Erik DeHaven, linebacker

2001 – Sean Stewart, safety (honorable mention)

2001 – Ross Wurdeman, tight end (first team)

2000 – Drew Ekart, defensive back (honorable mention)

2000 – Sean Stewart, safety (honorable mention)

2000 – Ross Wurdeman, tight end (first team)

1996 – Ed McLaughlin, offensive line (honorable mention)

1995 – Mike Hoernemann, linebacker (honorable mention)

1994 – Travis Soukup, tight end/punter (first team)

1984 – Kahlil King, safety (first team)

1984 – Cleve Wester, running back

1982 – Gary Pomerenke, defensive line (first team)

1981 – Gary Pomerenke, defensive line (second team)

1965 – Dennis Oetting, lineman (honorable mention)

1964 – Bob Oetting, lineman

1961 – Larry Oetting, lineman

1959 – John Suhr, quarterback/safety/punter

1956 – Gary Seevers, running back

1955 – Gary Seevers, running back