Fourteen Bulldogs pick up All-Nebraska football honors

By Jacob Knabel on Dec. 24, 2017 in Football

Omaha World-Herald article

SEWARD, Neb. – Fourteen members of the Concordia University football program placed themselves on either the 2017 All-Nebraska team or on the list of honorable mention choices. The teams were announced by the Omaha World-Herald on Saturday (Dec. 23). The Omaha news outlet selected Ryan Durdon and Matt Romero to its offense and D’Mauria Martin, Lane Napier, Tarence Roby and Erik Small to its defense on teams that were made up of NAIA and NCAA Division III Nebraska football programs. Brady Fitzke was tabbed as the team’s punter.

Seven Bulldogs collected honorable mention All-Nebraska accolades: Seth Fitzke, Kordell Glause, Nate Gilmore, Grady Koch, Hallick Lehmann, Austin Reese and Shane Scott. Repeat selections from the 2016 All-Nebraska selections include Martin and Roby. First team All-GPAC choices in 2017 from Concordia were Martin, Napier, Roby and Romero. Roby also collected first team All-America honors from the Associated Press and second team All-America laurels from the America Football Coaches Association.

The 2017 season marked the first under head coach Patrick Daberkow’s direction. He led the Bulldogs to a 6-4 overall record and a third place GPAC finish.

NAIA/NCAA Division III All-Nebraska Football Team

WR Jacob Cornelius, Sr., Doane
WR Jake Coughlin, Sr., Peru State
TE Caleb Conway, Jr., Neb. Wesleyan
OL Daniel Jahn, So., Midland
OL Blaine Morrow, Sr., Hastings
OL Matt Romero, Jr., Concordia
OL Christian Vinsky, Sr., Peru State
OL Tanner Webster, Sr., Doane
QB Jonathan Curti, So., Neb. Wesleyan
RB *Tahj Willingham, Jr., Hastings
RB Ryan Durdon, So., Concordia

* — denotes honorary captain

DL Stephen Bowers, Jr., Peru State
DL Austin Bretting, Jr., Hastings
DL Tyler Parthemer, Jr., Hastings
DL Erik Small, Sr., Concordia
LB Bret Andrew, Sr., Doane
LB Lane Napier, Fr., Concordia
LB Wyatt Tremayne, Jr., Midland
CB Justin Barnes, Sr., Peru State
CB D’Mauria Martin, Sr., Concordia
CB Tarence Roby, Sr., Concordia

CB *Cole Wiseman, Sr., Doane

* — denotes honorary captain

K Bryce Cooney, So., Doane
P Brady Fitzke, Fr., Concordia
RS Exavier Edwards, Sr., Midland
AP Shaka Taylor, Jr., Neb. Wesleyan

Honorable mention: Concordia: Seth Fitzke, Kordell Glause, Nate Gilmore, Grady Koch, Hallick Lehmann, Austin Reese, Shane Scott. Doane: Chayton Crow, Connor Hughes, Kyle Jensen, Seth Majerus, Tariq Mustafaa, Anthony Malone. Hastings: Anthony Cloyd, Noah Housh, Nathan Howe, Farao Maileoi, Norman McKissack, Frank Vierra. Midland: Alex Boyer, Garry Cannon, Hayden Dunn, Bryan McLaughlin, Taylor Syvertsen. Nebraska Wesleyan: Dakota Buss, Bryce Darner, Jacob LaMarche, Tyler Sorensen. Peru State: Ismael Calvillo, Trevis Carnahan, AJ Flodman, Quentin King, Gunnar Orcutt, Sean Van Briesen.