Four Bulldogs named to Academic All-District Football Teams

By Jacob Knabel on Dec. 19, 2023 in Football

2023 CSC Academic All-District Football Teams

SEWARD, Neb. – The Concordia University Football program has extended its streak of consecutive years with at least one Academic All-District award winner, as selected by College Sports Communicators (CSC), to 11. Bulldogs named to the 2023 CSC Academic All-District Football Teams are offensive lineman Jackson Anderson, linebacker Christian Dyhrkopp, defensive lineman Carson Fehlhafer and receiver Austin Jablonski, as announced on Tuesday (Dec. 19). All four Concordia student-athletes are first time CSC honorees.

The 2023 Academic All-District® Football Teams, selected by College Sports Communicators, recognize the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances on the field and in the classroom. Student-athletes must achieve a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher in order to be nominated for this award. The CSC Academic All-America® program separately recognizes football honorees in four divisions — NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA — for each gender.

A junior from Highlands Ranch, Colo., Anderson started all 10 games at center as part of a Bulldog offense that averaged more than 30 points per game and broke the school record for average total offense per game (412.0). Anderson and his fellow teammates up front helped pave the way for running back Devin Zeigler to earn Second Team All-GPAC accolades and for Jablonski and quarterback DJ McGarvie become new program statistical record holders. Impressively, the offensive line did not allow a single sack over the final five games of 2023. Anderson is studying Biology and Chemistry.

A senior from Columbus, Neb., Dyhrkopp took on a starting linebacker role in 2023 and ranked second on the team with 75 tackles. He also added four tackles for loss and a pair of interceptions. In the season ending victory over Mount Marty, Dyhrkopp picked off a pass and returned it 40 yards for a touchdown. His season high of 11 tackles came in the win at Hastings. Dyhrkopp is studying Business Administration.

A sophomore from Utica, Neb., Fehlhafer moved back to his more natural spot on the defensive line in 2023 (after starting on the offensive line in 2022). Fehlhafer was honored as an Honorable Mention All-GPAC selection and an NAIA Scholar-Athlete this fall. While starting all 10 games, Fehlhafer produced 45 tackles, 9.5 tackles for loss, 3.5 sacks and a forced fumble. Fehlhafer starred with nine tackles, including two for loss, in the win over Briar Cliff. He is studying Business Administration.

A junior from Lincoln, Neb., Jablonski has raked in plenty of postseason accolades. The game-breaking receiver has been named an NAIA First Team All-American (AFCA) and a First Team All-GPAC selection, in addition to receiving the All-District award. He concluded the 2023 season with 91 receptions for 1,134 yards and eight touchdowns. His 1,134 receiving yards set a new program record for a single season, surpassing the previous standard of 1,024 by Korrell Koehlmoos (honorable mention All-American) in 2022. Jablonski also rushed for 155 yards and two touchdowns and threw for a score in 2023. As the top target for quarterback McGarvie, Jablonski eclipsed 100 receiving yards in six games. Jablonski is an Accounting major.

Academic All-District® honorees were considered for advancement to the CSC Academic All-America® ballot. Student-athletes selected as CSC Academic All-America® finalists are denoted with an asterisk and will advance to the national ballot to be voted on by CSC members. First-, second- and third-team Academic All-America® honorees will be announced Jan. 23, 2024.

Concordia Football All-District Honorees
Jackson Anderson (2023)
Mitchell Cherney (2012)
Christian Dyhrkopp (2023)
Carson Fehlhafer (2023)
Le’Dontrae Gooden (2016)
Toby Hager (2022)
Dylan Heithoff (2013)
Austin Jablonski (2023)
Hallick Lehmann (*2015, *2016, *2017)
Adam Meirose (2014, 2015)
Aaron Rudloff (2019)
Zac Walter (2018)
Jonah Weyand (*2020, *2021)
*Academic All-American