Former Concordia coach Ron Harms named to National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame

By on May. 22, 2012 in Football

Former Concordia coach Ron Harms named to the 2012 National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame Divisional Class

Former Concordia University, Nebraska, football coach Ron Harms was officially named as a member of the National Football Foundation (NFF)  College Football Hall of Fame 2012 Divisional Class on Tuesday, May 22.

Harms coached at Concordia from 1962-69, taking over as the head coach in 1964.  During his six seasons at the helm the Bulldogs posted a 25-27-3 record.  A highly decorated winner, Ron Harms was named the NAIA Coach of the Year, the AFCA Regional Coach of the Year, the NAIA District Coach of the Year, the CNN NCAA Division II Coach of the Year and the Lone Star Conference Coach of the Year. Harms enjoyed a 33-year career in which he won 14 conference championships and one NAIA national title. 

Harms' migrated to Adams State College in 1970 and again won a conference title in his third year on campus. Harms earned a 21-14-2 record in four seasons as the Grizzlies' head coach. 

In 1979, Harms experienced ultimate success in his first year at Texas A&M - Kingsville, posting a 12-1 record while winning the NAIA national championship and the Lone Star Conference title. Over the following 20 seasons, Harms guided the Javelinas to 10 Lone Star Conference crowns, including six consecutive from 1992-97, and 12 seasons of eight or more wins. In all, he pushed Texas A&M - Kingsville to a 172-72 record before his retirement following the 1999 season.  Harms completed his career with a 218-113-5 (65.6%) record.

Harms was a member of the American Football Coaches Association and served on many NCAA committees. He was a board member of Crime Stoppers and served as the president of the congregations of St. Paul Lutheran Church of Kingsville, Texas, and Faith Church of Aransas Pass, Texas. He is a member of the Lone Star Hall of Honor and the Texas A&M - Kingsville Javelina Hall of Fame.

The Divisional College Football Hall of Fame considers players and coaches from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) for induction. This year's class will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame during the Enshrinement Festival, July 20-21, in South Bend, Ind. The class includes:


  • CHRIS BISAILLON - Illinois Wesleyan, WR (1989-92)
  • JIM HOLDER* - Oklahoma Panhandle State, RB (1961-63)
  • RICHARD McGEORGE - Elon, TE (1966-69)
  • REX MIRICH - Northern Arizona, OT/DG (1960-63)


  • GENE CARPENTER* - Adams State [Colo.] (1968), Millersville [Pa.] (1970-2000); 220-96-6 (69.3%)
  • WILLIAM "LONE STAR" DIETZ* - Washington State (1915-17), Purdue (1921), Louisiana Tech (1922-23), Wyoming (1924-26), Haskell Indian Institute [Kan.] (1929-32), Albright [Pa.] (1937-42); 96-62-7 (60.3%)
  • RON HARMS - Concordia [Neb.] (1962-67), Adams State [Colo.] (1970-73), Texas A&M - Kingsville (1979-99); 218-113-5 (65.6%)

* Deceased 

For the full release, click here.