Barnes adds All-America honor from Victory Sports Network

By Jacob Knabel on Jan. 16, 2017 in Football

SEWARD, Neb. – Already named a first team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association, senior defensive lineman Trey Barnes has picked up another significant honor. On Monday (Jan. 16), Victory Sports Network also included Barnes on its list of All-Americans. The latest award comes a few weeks after the Omaha World-Herald chose Barnes as the honorary captain of its NAIA All-Nebraska team.

Barnes collected first team all-conference accolades as both a defensive lineman and punter this fall. In his final collegiate season, Barnes totaled 68 tackles, 22 tackles for loss, nine sacks, two forced fumbles, an interception and a fumble return for a touchdown. He led the nation in stops in the backfield per game (2.2). As a punter, Barnes topped the conference with an average of 40.7. After the final week of the season, he was also named GPAC special teams player of the week after a career day punting the football. One of his punts went a career long 75 yards.

For his career, Barnes totaled 165 tackles, 44.5 tackles for loss and 19 sacks. Barnes became a dominant defensive player after playing running back earlier in his collegiate career, which included 575 rushing yards, seven rushing touchdowns and 136 receiving yards.

Barnes 2016 Honors

  • AFCA-NAIA First Team All-American
  • Omaha World-Herald All-Nebraska Honorary Defensive Captain
  • Victory Sports Network All-American
  • First Team All-GPAC
  • Chosen to play in D2 vs. NAIA Challenge All-Star Football Game


2016 – Trey Barnes, defensive line (first team)

2015 – Trey Barnes, defensive line (second team)

2013 – Darnell Woods, safety (first team)

2012 – Derek Blessing, punt returner (first team – Beyond Sports Network)

2012 – Kenny Zoeller, kicker (first team)

2007 – JaMaine Lewis, running back (second team – Victory Sports Network)

2007 – Jeff Neujahr, kick/punt returner (honorable mention – Victory Sports Network)

2006 – Jeff Neujahr, kick/punt returner (honorable mention – Victory Sports Network)

2004 – Matthew Egger, punter

2002 – Sean Stewart, safety (second team)

2001 – Erik DeHaven, linebacker

2001 – Sean Stewart, safety (honorable mention)

2001 – Ross Wurdeman, tight end (first team)

2000 – Drew Ekart, defensive back (honorable mention)

2000 – Sean Stewart, safety (honorable mention)

2000 – Ross Wurdeman, tight end (first team)

1996 – Ed McLaughlin, offensive line (honorable mention)

1995 – Mike Hoernemann, linebacker (honorable mention)

1994 – Travis Soukup, tight end/punter (first team)

1984 – Kahlil King, safety (first team)

1984 – Cleve Wester, running back

1982 – Gary Pomerenke, defensive line (first team)

1981 – Gary Pomerenke, defensive line (second team)

1965 – Dennis Oetting, lineman (honorable mention)

1964 – Bob Oetting, lineman

1961 – Larry Oetting, lineman

1959 – John Suhr, quarterback/safety/punter

1956 – Gary Seevers, running back

1955 – Gary Seevers, running back