Twelve runners named Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes

By on Nov. 16, 2012 in Cross Country

Twelve runners named Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes

View complete Daktronics-NAIA men's cross country Scholar-Athletes
View complete Daktronics-NAIA women's cross country Scholar-Athletes

Head coach Kregg Einspahr's men's and women's cross country programs have garnered six Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes apiece. A total of 317 women and 203 men nationally were honored on Friday with the announcement from the NAIA national office.

From the NAIA release: In order to be nominated by an institution's head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status to qualify for this honor.

With six honorees, the Bulldog men tied Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) and St. Ambrose (Iowa) for the most nationally.

Concordia men named Scholar-Athletes:

  • Beau Billings, Jr., Valentine, Neb.
  • Daniel Gibson, Sr., Grand Island, Neb.
  • Joel Heckmann, Sr., Sioux Falls, S.D.
  • Andrew Malan, Jr., Lincoln, Neb.
  • Colin Morrissey, Sr., Omaha, Neb.
  • Tim von Behren, Sr., Elk Creek, Neb.

Concordia women named Scholar-Athletes:

  • Sarah Kortze, Sr., Rockford, Ill.
  • Megan Letts, Jr., Lakewood, Colo.
  • Jena Schwalenberg, Sr., Columbus, Neb.
  • Theresa Staley, Jr., Lincoln, Neb.
  • Christina Tomka, Sr., Dodge, Neb.
  • Jenean Williams, Jr., Mankato, Minn.