Folkerts collects Capital One Academic All-District first team award

By on Feb. 5, 2015 in Men's Basketball

Folkerts collects Capital One Academic All-District first team award

View All-District men’s basketball teams

SEWARD, Neb. – A blossoming star on the court, sophomore Chandler Folkerts has been recognized for his work as both an athlete and in the classroom. The native of Milford, Neb., has been named to the 2014-15 Capital One Academic All-District® 3 Men’s Basketball College Division first team, as announced by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) on Thursday.

CoSIDA: “The Capital One Academic All-District® Men’s Basketball Teams have been released to recognize the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. Capital One has been the entitlement rights holder to CoSIDA’s Academic All-America teams programs since 2011.”

Other Concordia All-District selections in 2014-15 include Brendan Buchanan (soccer), Bailey Morris (basketball), Rachel Mussell (soccer) and Melissa Stine (soccer). Folkerts, an agricultural engineering major, has received the all-district honor for the first time in his career.

Folkerts burst onto the scene during the week of Dec. 29 when he averaged 18.3 points and 8.3 rebounds over three games on the way to earning NAIA Division II National Player of the Week honors. On the season, Folkerts leads the Bulldogs with averages of 15.2 points and 7.5 rebounds. His field goal percentage of .614 ranks seventh best nationally.

The progression of Concordia’s 6-foot-8 post has helped translate to significant improvement for the Bulldogs (14-12) as a team. Concordia has already added six wins to its total from a year ago.

District 3 of the College Division covers institutions in the states of Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Academic All-District® honorees advance to the Capital One Academic All-America® Team ballot, where first-, second- and third-team All-America honorees will be selected and then released on Feb. 18.