Nekoliczak makes program history as NAIA Gold Glove second base award winner

By Jacob Knabel on Jun. 19, 2024 in Baseball

NAIA Release

SEWARD, Neb. – A program ‘first’ occurred on Wednesday (June 19) for Concordia University Baseball. Junior Ty Nekoliczak became the first Bulldog ever named to the ABCA-Rawlings NAIA Baseball Gold Glove Team. Nekoliczak earned the award as the top defensive second baseman in the NAIA for the 2024 season. The native of Greeley, Neb., moved to that position after having started at shortstop in 2022 and 2023.

The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are selected by ABCA coaches committees at each level: NCAA Div. I, II & III, NAIA, NJCAA Div. I, II & III, Pacific Association Division and High School. The ABCA/Rawlings award program is one of the most comprehensive in all of sports, honoring All-America and Gold Glove teams in nine divisions of amateur baseball, as well as All-Region teams in five divisions. The ABCA/Rawlings All-America teams date back to 1949 starting with one collegiate All-America team.

A three-year starter for Head Coach Ryan Dupic’s Bulldogs, Nekoliczak also won the GPAC Gold Glove award at the second base position. This past 2024 season, Nekoliczak successfully converted 214 of 217 chances for a .986 fielding percentage. He recorded 119 assists and 95 putouts while being involved in 21 double plays. He batted .326 with a .445 on-base percentage and stole 10 bases in 2024.

In his career, Nekoliczak has batted .354 with 193 hits and 104 RBIs to go along with a .457 on-base percentage. He is a three-time All-GPAC honoree with both one first team and one second team all-conference award. Nekoliczak has been a member of three NAIA national tournament qualifying teams and two squads that captured GPAC championships. Nekoliczak has appeared in 172 games over the past three years.

The postseason awards have streamed in for the Concordia Baseball team. Recently, the NAIA Ball media organization (separate from the NAIA National Office) recognized Matt Rhoades as its 2024 NAIA Freshman of the Year and named Joey Grabanski and Jaidan Quinn to its All-NAIA Ball Team.