Geiger named to OWH All-Nebraska team

By Jacob Knabel on Jun. 24, 2016 in Baseball

Omaha World-Herald news article

SEWARD, Neb. – A breakthrough sophomore season by slugging first baseman Kaleb Geiger led to another honor on Thursday when the Omaha World-Herald named him to its NAIA All-Nebraska Baseball Team. In addition, juniors Casey Berg and Christian Montero received honorable mention. All three have received the honor from the news outlet for the first time.

A first team all-GPAC choice, Geiger paced the Bulldogs in batting average (.347), runs (48), hits (58), doubles (16), RBIs (50) and slugging percentage (.605). The native of Sedalia, Colo., also hit seven home runs, second on the team to Montero, who clubbed nine home runs. The Dominican Republic native hit .326 with 50 runs batted in. Meanwhile, Berg hit .316 with a .386 on-base percentage for head coach Ryan Dupic’s squad, which set a program single-season record with 28 wins in 2016.

Omaha World-Herald NAIA All-Nebraska Baseball Team
C: Garrett Anctil, York College, Sr., .391
C: Robert Cummins, Midland, Jr., .394
1B: Nick Carney, York College, Jr., .323
2B: Michael Johnson, York College, Sr., .371
3B: Matt Evans, Bellevue, So., .327
SS: Nick Stoll, York College, Sr., .392
U: Kaleb Geiger, Concordia, So., .347
DH: Derik Bontempo, Bellevue, Jr., .416
OF: Trevor Jones, Bellevue, Sr., .393
OF: Billy Johnson, York College, Jr., .360
OF: Dylan Steyer, Midland, Sr., .364
OF: Joe Moran, Bellevue, Jr., .444
OF: Cole Gray, Midland, Jr., .377
SP: Ben McKendall, Bellevue, Jr., 12-2, 2.17 ERA
SP: Braulio Torres-Perez, Bellevue, Sr., 11-1, 2.72
SP: Kiefer Musiel, Midland, Jr., 8-2, 4.09
SP: Josh Johnson, Midland, Sr., 9-2, 4.38
RP: Leland Tilley, Bellevue, Sr., 10-1, 9 saves

Honorary captain: Derik Bontempo, Bellevue University

Honorable mention: Jake Browne, Ross Feeley, Connor Garrison, Joe Mancuso, Todd Nicks, Bellevue; Casey Berg, Christian Montero, Concordia; Manny Armendariz, Adam Touhey, Doane; Zach Belanger, Deven Ralston, Brandon Metoyer, Midland; Eric Anderson, Braxton Arndt, William Reynolds, Hastings; Sam Ayars, Matt Orozco, Nebraska Wesleyan; Kyle Killen, Mark McGinnity, Cragin Missak, Jordan Silva, Peru State; Tim Emory, York College.