Garcia named Academic All-District by CoSIDA for third time

By Jacob Knabel on May. 13, 2022 in Baseball

CoSIDA Release

SEWARD, Neb. – For the third time in his career, Jesse Garcia has represented the Concordia University Baseball program with recognition as an Academic All-District® Baseball Team honoree. College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) named Garcia to the 2022 NAIA Academic All-District 3 Team announced on Thursday (May 12). District 3 covers NAIA colleges and universities in the states of Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

The 2021-22 Academic All-District® Baseball Teams, selected by CoSIDA, recognize the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. The CoSIDA Academic All-America® program separately recognizes baseball honorees in four divisions — NAIA, NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II and NCAA Division III.

Now in his fourth year as a Bulldog (junior in terms of athletic eligibility), Garcia is studying Criminal Justice. On the field, Garcia has played a major role in the success enjoyed in recent seasons for Concordia Baseball under Head Coach Ryan Dupic. Garcia has been named an all-conference honoree three times while establishing himself as one of the top sluggers in program history. On the season, the native of El Cajon, Calif., is hitting .337 (55-for-163) with 14 doubles, eight home runs, 39 RBIs, a .476 on-base percentage and .571 slugging percentage. On the school’s all-time lists, Garcia ranks second in home runs (37) and third in RBIs (145). In addition to his three Academic All-District awards, Garcia has twice been named Second Team All-GPAC.

First-team Academic All-District® honorees advance to the CoSIDA Academic All-America® ballot. First-, second- and third-team Academic All-America® honorees will be announced in June.

Concordia Baseball Academic All-District honorees
Jake Adams (2017)
Nathan Buckallew (*2021)
Jesse Garcia (2020, 2021, 2022)
Jaydee Jurgensen (2015)
Nick Little (*2018, *2020, *2021)
Thomas Sautel (*2020)
*Academic All-American