Baseball nets six NAIA Scholar-Athlete awards

By Jacob Knabel on May. 23, 2024 in Baseball

2024 NAIA Baseball Scholar-Athletes

SEWARD, Neb. – The Concordia University Baseball program netted six 2024 Daktronics NAIA Scholar-Athlete awards, as announced on Thursday (May 23) by the NAIA. The list includes repeat award winners in Alex Johnson and Ty Nekoliczak. Additional NAIA Scholar-Athletes are Blake Benson, Easton Cooper, Zackery Day and Shea Prahl. Nekoliczak was also recognized by College Sports Communicators as an Academic All-District selection in 2023.

The 2024 list of baseball honorees features more than 1,300 total student-athletes. In order to be nominated by an institution’s head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must appear on the eligibility certificate for the sport and have attended one full year at said institution.

Winner of the 2023-24 GPAC All-Sports Championship Trophy, Concordia University ranks as the NAIA’s all-time leader in number of Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes with 2,322 entering the 2023-24 academic year. The school record for number of Scholar-Athletes in one academic year is 226 achieved in 2019-20. Concordia has been a regular national leader for both Scholar-Athletes and Scholar-Teams.

2024 Baseball NAIA Scholar-Athletes

·        Blake Benson (Springdale, Ark.)

·        Easton Cooper (Lincoln, Neb.)

·        Zackery Day (Simi Valley, Calif.)

·        Alex Johnson (Olathe, Kan.)

·        Ty Nekoliczak (Greeley, Neb.)

·        Shea Prahl (Tucson, Ariz.)