Softball opens up Tucson Invitational on Monday

By Jake Knabel on Mar. 1, 2018 in Softball

SEWARD, Neb. – The Concordia University softball team is readying for a flight to Arizona and the beginning of a hectic 11-games-in-five-days stretch at the Tucson Invitational. That run will begin on Monday, March 5 with a trio of games against NAIA competition. During their stay in Tucson, the Bulldogs will play 10 different opponents, including Roosevelt University (Ill.) twice.

For coverage during games, follow @CUSB_dawgs and @cunebulldogs on Twitter for updates as they are made available. Live coverage will be limited, but full recaps will be provided at the conclusion of action each day.

Fifth-year head coach Todd LaVelle’s squad stands at 2-4 overall after three separate doubleheaders versus teams from the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference. Three regulars, in particular, in LaVelle’s lineup have been red hot at the plate: junior Leah Kalkwarf (10-for-17 with two home runs) and freshmen Hhana Haro (11-for-23 with four doubles and one home run) and Tori Homolka (9-for-23 with two triples and one home run). Concordia hopes to shore up its run prevention with debut of ace pitcher Brittany Woolridge, who has been sidelined so far due to injury. Woolridge is a Tucson native while Dalaney Nance is a Gilbert native.

Over LaVelle’s first four seasons, the Bulldogs have gone 33-6 at the Tucson Invitational. They won eight of nine games in Tucson last spring.

Tucson Invitational Schedule
-All games played at Lincoln Park
-All games seven innings

March 5 vs. Fisher College (Mass.), 11 p.m. MT / 12 p.m. CT (Field 8)

March 5 vs. Aquinas College (Mich.), 3:30 p.m. MT / 4:30 p.m. CT (Field 4)

March 5 vs. Northwest University (Wash.), 6 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. CT (Field 4)

March 6 vs. University of St. Francis (Ill.), 8 a.m. MT / 9 a.m. CT (Field 5)

March 6 vs. Roosevelt University (Ill.), 12 p.m. MT / 1 p.m. CT (Field 5)

March 6 vs. William Penn University (Iowa), 2 p.m. MT / 3 p.m. CT (Field 5)

March 8 vs. Roosevelt University (Ill.), 9 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. CT (Field 7)

March 8 vs. Madonna College (Mich.), 1:30 p.m. MT / 2:30 p.m. CT (Field 8)

March 8 vs. Saint Xavier University (Ill.), 3:30 p.m. MT / 4:30 p.m. CT (Field 5)

March 9 vs. Olivet Nazarene University (Ill.), 9 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. CT (Field 2)

March 9 vs. Presentation College (S.D.), 11 a.m. MT / 12 p.m. CT (Field 2)