Baseball to begin play Saturday at Tucson Invitational

By Jake Knabel on Mar. 1, 2018 in Baseball

SEWARD, Neb. – Following a four-game series in Springfield, Mo., to open up the 2018 season, the Concordia University baseball team has departed for Tucson, Ariz. Its 11-game swing at the Tucson Invitational is set to begin with a doubleheader against William Penn University (Iowa) on Saturday (March 3). Between March 3 and 9, the Bulldogs will have just one off day.

For live coverage of select games at the Tucson Invitational, check the schedule below for links. Fans of Concordia baseball can also follow @cunebulldogs and @cunebaseball on Twitter for updates as they are made available. Live coverage will be limited, but check back for recaps at the conclusion of each day’s action.

Fourth-year head coach Ryan Dupic’s squad split four games at Evangel University early in the week. Nick Little fired his first career shutout on the second day of the road trip. Freshman Keaton Candor and junior Christian Meza both belted two home runs in the opening series. Meanwhile, senior first baseman needs one more double to break the program’s career record that he currently shares with Concordia Hall of Famer Jarrod Pimentel (42 doubles from 1999-2002).

During Dupic’s tenure, the Bulldogs have enjoyed successful runs at the Tucson Invitational. They are 22-7 since 2015 in games played in Tucson. Concordia went 7-3 at the 2017 Tucson Invite. The team’s varsity roster includes three Arizona natives: Taylor Bickel (Surprise), Johnny Bryce (Phoenix) and Cade Moring (Eagar).

Tucson Invitational Schedule
*Kino Sports Complex – all games on Field 4 with exception of March 8 doubleheader in the Kino Veterans Memorial Stadium.

March 3 vs. William Penn University (Iowa), 4 p.m. MT / 5 p.m. CT (2x7)

March 4 vs. Rockford University (Ill.), 12:30 p.m. MT / 1: 30 p.m. CT (1x9)
LIVE STATS

March 4 vs. Gustavus Adolphus College (Minn.), 4 p.m. MT / 5 p.m. CT (1x9)

March 5 vs. Grand View University (Iowa), 6 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. CT (1x9)

March 7 vs. Simpson College (Iowa), 9 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. CT (1x9)
LIVE STATS | LIVE AUDIO

March 7 vs. Valley City State University (N.D.), 12:30 p.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. CT (1x9)
LIVE STATS

March 8 vs. Presentation College (S.D.), 3 p.m. MT / 4 p.m. CT (2x7)

March 9 vs. Northern State University (S.D.), 9 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. CT (2x7)