University A Cappella Choir

University A Cappella Choir

Concordia University’s A Cappella Choir has been performing concerts and joining congregations in worship for 75 years.The choir was organized in 1938-39 by Dr. Theodore Stelzer, professor of music and psychology.  One of the United States' oldest touring Lutheran college choirs, the A Cappella Choir has performed extensively throughout America (including Hawaii), and internationally in Greece, Italy, France, Egypt, Israel, Lebanon, India, Thailand, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, the Philippines, Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Austria, Spain, Mexico and Australia. 

The 72-voice concert choir is chosen by audition each fall.  Student membership is comprised of majors from most academic disciplines representing 15 different states and some foreign country.  Over 180 students audition each fall for a position in the internationally renowned concert choir.

The A Cappella Choir has been invited to perform for music conferences, choral festivals, and international competitions in recent years.  They received the Gold Medal for performance at the 12thAnnual Australian International Music Festival and earned a place in the winners circle at the 42nd Annual International Choral Competition in Spittal and der Drau in Austria.  The choir has regularly performed for the Nebraska Music Education Association’s annual conference and was one of two Nebraska choirs selected to perform for the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) North Central Division choral hour in March 2006.

Below are some highlights from the recent history of the A Cappella Choir:

  • Yearly domestic tours covering nearly every state in the U.S.A.
  • International touring since 1961.
  • International Competitions in Australia (2001) and Austria (2004 and 2009).
  • Collaborations with the Omaha Nebraska Symphony Orchestra, Lincoln Abendmusik Chorus, Guam University Singers and the Peninsula Symphony Orchestra of Los Angeles.
  • Participated in clinics led by leading U.S. choral conductors including Anton Armstrong (St. Olaf College), René Clausen (Concordia, Moorhead), and Weston Noble (Luther College).
  • Selected to perform for the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) North Central Convention in 2006.
  • Selected to perform for the 2001, 2004, 2007, and 2010 Nebraska Music Education Association conference.
  • The choir has recorded 6 compact discs including “I AM Forever WHO I AM” (2002), “All Sounds Became Music” (2004), “The Light of Morning” (2006), “In Thy Sweet Humility” (2007), “Hear My Voice” and “Music Down In My Soul:  Spirituals.” (2011).


Kurt E. von Kampen

Choir Members

Karen Burgess, Sophomore, Lee's Summit, Mo.
Rianne Gross, Junior, Riverside, Calif. 
Erin P. Kelley, Senior, Danbury, Neb.
Jessica Krome, Senior, Fairmont, Minn.
Kaellyn Marrs, Senior, St. Louis, Mo. 
Olivia Oetting, Senior, Seward, Neb.
Kassidy Rixstine, Junior, Seward, Neb.
Andrea von Kampen, Sophomore, Seward, Neb. 

Helena Dieckhoff, Sophomore, Wichita, Kan.
Arianne Greco, Junior, Papillion, Neb. 
Rebekah Holten, Junior, Nicollet, Minn.
Molly Kenow, Junior, Seward, Neb.
Barbara Leising, Junior, Arapahoe, Neb.
Kelsey Livingston, Senior, Lone Tree, Colo.
Brianna Rerucha, Junior, Columbus, Neb. 
Heidi Steinmetz, Senior, Parker, Colo.

Michaela Gierke, Junior, Billerica, Mass. 
Adrienne Langewisch, Junior, Seward, Neb. 
Julie Marquardt, Senior, Janesville, Minn.
Anna McDaniel, Junior, Cypress, Calif.
Hilary Murray, Senior, Houston, Texas 
Jennifer Reynolds, Sophomore, Ft. Wayne, Ind.
Clara Rich, Freshman, Lincoln, Neb.
Megan Sparling, Sophomore, Columbus, Neb.
Hope Taylor, Freshman, Foothill Ranch, Calif.
Erika Troester, Sophomore, Lincolm, Neb.

Beth Ahlers, Sophomore, Pierce, Neb.
Jenna Karlin, Junior, Lincoln, Neb.
Natalie Kesar, Senior, Omaha, Neb.
Sarah Lohmeyer, Senior, Lincoln, Neb. 
Amy McDaniel, Junior, Cypress, Calif.
Alyssa Newton, Sophomore, Rockford, Ill. 
Kelly Slattery, Sophomore, Grand Island, Neb.
Shelby Stolze, Sophomore, Norfolk, Neb.
Lauren Staehr, Sophomore, Grand Island, Neb.
Rebecca Trautman, Sophomore, Moorhead, Minn.
Stephanie Van Blair, Freshman, Omaha, Neb. 

Andrew Bloch, Sophomore, Seymour, Ind.
Tanner Bohlender, Freshman, Lincoln, Neb.
Zachary Hagenson, Senior, Bellevue, Neb. 
Titus Kromminga, Freshman, Seward, Neb.
Jordan Miller, Junior, Tomball, Texas
Tyler Nicholas, Senior, Lincoln, Neb.
Evan Root, Junior, Naples, Fla.
Erik Scherer, Senior, Bismarck, N.D. 

Robert Cody, Senior, Alamosa, Colo.
Jonathan Jahnke, Freshman, West Fargo, N.D.
Joel Kaldahl, Senior, Spencer, Iowa
Luke Kaldahl, Sophomore, Spencer, Iowa 
Zachary Klatt, Junior, Overland Park, Kan.
Peter Klinge, Junior, State Center, Iowa
Ben Montgomery, Sophomore, North Platte, Neb.
Joel Newton, Senior, Rockford, Ill.
Luke Riley, Junior, Hickman, Neb. 
Alexander Scheiber, Junior, Seward, Neb. 

Paul Gaschler, Junior, Imperial, Neb.  
Mason Koeritz, Freshman, Northrop, Minn.
Adam Meirose, Sophomore, Lincoln, Neb.
Ian Moore, Junior, Newton, Iowa
Joe Pierson, Freshmanm Van Buren, Ark. 
Matthew Porath, Senior, Lincoln, Neb.
Justin Tayon, Senior, Belleville, Ill.
Luke Wohlgemuth, Junior, Alton, Iowa

Jonathan Heckmann, Junior, Canton, SD
Ethan Kesar, Sophomore, Omaha, Neb.
Keith Kettner, Junior, Neunert, Ill.
Matthew Lehenbauer, Freshman, Lake Ozark, Mo.
David Lindeman, Junior, Arvada, Colo.
Tyler Miles, Freshman, Lincoln, Neb. 
Nathanael Pfeil, Senior, Hiawatha, Iowa
Karl Rovey, Sophomore, Springfield, Mo.
Michael Scheer, Senior, Lincoln, Neb. 
Benjamin Schulteis, Junior, Greenfield, Iowa
Joshua Weishaar, Junior, Sainas, Calif.