Festival History

Founded in 1996, the Plum Creek Children’s Literacy Festival seeks to encourage a love of reading, writing, and books by bringing nationally renowned authors and illustrators to Nebraska.  The festival started as a one day, one author event, with about 200 adults and children present.  Since then, it has grown to three days of presentations, with ten authors and illustrators in 2014. Since 2013, over 10,000 children and adults attend the festival each year.  It currently includes sessions for elementary, middle-level and secondary students as well as adults.

The Plum Creek Children's Literacy Festival won the Jane Pope Geske award given by The Nebraska Center for the Book for exceptional literary contributions in 2007.  In 2010, it became a Read Aloud Nebraska Champion.

Featured Authors and Illustrators Over the Years

2019 Sarah Albee, Ben Clanton, Rita Williams-Garcia, Lita Judge, Alan Katz, Kate Messner, Wendell and Florence Minor, Barbara O'Connor, Lin Oliver, Jason Reynolds, Lori Richmond, Stephen Savage, Matt Tavares, Duncan Tonatiuh. Kate DiCamillo and Jacqueline Woodson at the adult conference. Breakfast and Books event in March with Molly Bang, David Small, and Sarah Stewart.
2018  Laurie Halse Anderson, Brian Biggs, Harry Bliss, Suzanne Bloom, Bruce Degen, Kelly DiPucchio, Chris Grabenstein, Ryan T. Higgins, Scott Magoon, Megan McDonald, Zachariah OHora, James Ransome, Lesa Cline-Ransome, Adam Rex, Steve Sheinkin. Jon Scieszka and Peter H. Reynolds at the adult conference. Breakfast and Books event in March with Carmen Agra Deedy. Special tour events with Jan Brett and Kate DiCamillo.
2017 Joan Bauer, Lauren Castillo, Henry Cole, Matthew Cordell, Rebecca Kai Dotlich, Sharon Draper, Tad Hills, Jennifer Holm, Matt Holm, Brandon Mull, Christian Robinson, Laura Vaccaro Seeger, Phil Stead, Melissa Sweet. Patricia MacLachlan and Kadir Nelson at the Adult Conference. Special Breakfast and Books event with Jane Yolen and Heidi Stemple in March. Special Tour Event with David Shannon in October.
2016 Peter Brown, David Carter, Matt de la Pena, Brian Floca, Loren Long, Linda Sue Park, Trent Reedy, Aaron Reynolds, Bob Shea, Salina Yoon. Louis Sachar and Sara Pennypacker at the Adult Conference. Special tour event on October 25 with Dav Pilkey
2015 Andrew Clements, Carmen Deedy, Denise Fleming, Eric Litwin, Peter Lourie, Jerry Pallotta, Janet Stevens. Richard Peck at the Adult Conference. Special SKYPE session with Tomie dePaola. Special tour event on December 8 with Jan Brett.
2014 Nick Bruel, Floyd Cooper, Jack Gantos, J. Patrick Lewis, Brian Lies, Dandi Mackall, Jim Murphy, Steve Jenkins, and Jeff Kurrus. Rosemary Wells at the Adult Conference.
2013  Anna Dewdney, Candace Fleming, Marla Frazee, Barbara McClintock, Marc Tyler Nobleman, Eric Rohmann, Judy Schachner, and Neal Shusterman. Kevin Henkes at the Adult Conference.
2012  R.W. and Zoe Alley, Jarrett Kosoczka, Tom Lichtenheld, Andrea Pinkney, Ted Scheu, Gary Schmidt, and Clare Vanderpool. David Wiesner at the Adult Conference.
2011  Eileen Christelow, Bill Harley, Grace Lin, Brian Pinkney, Barbara Robinson, Roland Smith and DyAnne DiSalvo. Jerry Pinkney at the Endowment Dinner.
2010  Ashley Bryan, Alyssa Capucilli, Dan Gutman, Ralph Masiello, Patricia Polacco, Pat Schories, and Sarah Weeks. Carmen Deedy & John McCutcheon at the Endowment Dinner.
2009  John Archambault, David Biedrzycki, John Erickson, Carmen Deedy, Shelley Gill, Gordon Korman, and Preston McDaniels. Authors Readers Theater: Avi, Sarah Weeks, Richard Peck and Pam Muñoz Ryan at the Endowment Dinner. 
2008  Cynthia DeFelice, Gail Gibbons, Mo Willems, Mike Graf, Joan Bauer, and Hans Wilhelm. Lois Lowry at the Endowment Dinner.
2007  Andrew Clements, Ted & Betsy Lewin, Peg Kehret, Robin Brickman, and Richard Peck. Laura Numeroff at the Endowment Dinner.
2006  Ted Kooser (U.S. Poet Laureate), Tedd Arnold, Joseph Bruchac, Patricia Reilly Giff, Nikki Grimes, and Ashley Wolff. Marc Brown at the Endowment Dinner.
2005  Janet Stevens, Susan Stevens Crummel, Pam Muñoz Ryan, Elisa Carbone, W. Nikola-Lisa and Stephen Swinburne
2004  Steven Kellogg, Patricia McKissack, Ben Mikaelsen, Jerry Pallotta
2003  Brod Bagert, Lisa Campbell Ernst, June Rae Wood, Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Brad Sneed
2002  EB Lewis, Jim Aylesworth, Mary Downing Hahn, Sneed Collard III, Sandy Asher
2001  Will Hobbs, Cheryl Harness, Helen Lester, Teri Sloat
2000  Paul O. Zelinsky, Denise Fleming, Patricia Calvert, Caroline Arnold 
1999  Emily Arnold McCully, Ivy Ruckman, Chris Demarest, David Harrison 
1998  Ruth Heller, Shirley Climo 
1997 William Anderson
1996  Janet Stevens